Tofo Beach


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Tofo
August 30th 2012
Published: January 27th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I was up at 5 a.m. to pack my tent away and get the bus to Tofo, just under 400 km up the coast. Fatima's Nest where I was staying in Maputo, also had a place in Tofo and provided a shuttle bus, door to door. Except this wasn't exactly the case. They picked us up in a minibus and brought us to the bus station, where we were transferred on to the local bus to Inhambane, about 20 km from Tofo. The local bus usually only goes to Inhambane, but this one brought us all the way to Tofo. It was a long, uncomfotable 8 hour journey though.

Tofo is all about the beach and even though it was late afternoon when we got there, I still had time to have a swim after putting my tent up, metres away from the beach. Tofo was just a small fishing village, but has grown into a major tourist draw. It still is not very built up, although I imagine during the high season, it can very busy. But while I was there the beach was always fairly quiet, with beautiful weather the whole time also.

There isn't a whole lot more for me to write about the three days I spent in Tofo, because I didn't do a whole lot. My day was mostly spent on the beach. I took full advantage of the incredible seafood available. The calamari steaks were the thickest and juiciest I have ever come across. I also treated myself to some lobster one night. In Tofo, I discovered the local Mozambiquan rum, Tipo Tinto. A 500 ml bottle could be bought for around 60 Mts (about €1.50) and was very nice with some coke.

My last day there, I discovered I did not have enough cash to pay for my stay in Fatima's. There is no ATM in Tofo, which meant I had to get to bus to Inhambane. This should have been straightforward enough, except the Barclay's ATM wasn't working. There were some local guys waiting there who said it was the only one in town. This turned out to be wrong, as me and a South African guy found another bank only around the corner, where we managed to get some cash out. This guy had driven from Durban to Tofo for a holiday, so he gave me a lift back to Tofo, which saved me having to get the bus back. That night, there was a full moon party at a beach bar called Dino's where I met up with Mike, a Peace Corp Volunteer, who I had met in Coffee Bay and a few of his co-volunteers.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement



Tot: 0.196s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb