I'm back!!!


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Southern » Maputo
October 27th 2007
Published: October 27th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So this entry was actually hang written the night before I am posting this, so if you still feel like my quality of writing sucks, I guess I have no excuses this time.

It is hard to believe that it has been 3 weeks since I last had access to a computer and internet. This is one of the many things that was a daily part of my life back in the states that I really have not missed at all here. One this that does not fall under this category is a big, juicy, Arby´s roast beef sandwich. Although this was not exactly part of my daily life, I think that I miss this more than anything else in the states (those who really are close to me understand that they always have come second to Arby´s, so this last statement was not offensive, I am sure). Life here is starting to become more comfortable and I feel like I fit in a little better now than I did a month ago, although it is possible that as the only white male in our town, I may still stand out just a little bit. I suspect this because even when I am playing soccer and a goat walks across this field, the spectators continue to gawk at me and pay the goat no attention. This could also be because of my superior soccer skills. Speaking of goats, the other day I was forced to hold my pee because a goat had found iots way into our outdoor bathroom. I didnºt want to be rude to I waited for him to finish. Speaking of pee, the other night I was forced to climb through my window at night so that I could go pee, because I couldnºt figure out how to unlock the deadbolt that was on our door that led to the outside. All other bedrooms in my community come equipped with bacias (small tubs) in them so that a person could empty their bladder in it during the night if they really needed to, so that they could avoid going outside and having possible encounters with malaria carring mosquitos or snakes. I havenºt had a bacia in my room since the second night because I told my family that I wouldn´t need it. First mistake of my life.

Believe it or not, these types of situations have become the most frequent topics of conversation over these past few weeks. The malaria pills that we all have been taking have had different sorts of side effects, but it seems as though diarrhea is the most common. On any given day, at least two of the nine health volunteers in my area will have diarrhea, which means that as we are walking around town between Portuguese classes and health sessions, those unfortuanate few are using the outdoor bathrooms of whatever house we are passing when the "Big D" strikes. I imagine that these Mozambicans must be thinking "and these are supposed to be the people who will help rid us of AIDS?" A valid quesiton.

At this point in training, it is difficult to imagine that in a matter of weeks (about 7) all of us here will be working with professional organizations that are of various sizes and are working in different ways to help improve the health of Mozambicans. Especially since we have currently been reduced to the level of 4 year ols, in the way that we speak and the way that we are always worried about going to the bathroom in our pants. Along with daily Portuguese classes, we typically will have a health session nearly everyday, where we learn about the health care system in Mozambique, why particular dieseases are endemic here, and about certain social traditions that result in health problems. A lot of factors contribute to make Mozambique one of the most AIDS effected countries in the world, not the least of which is the continuing denial of facts by influential people here. Traditional healers (curandairos) who are still commonly used and respected, will calim to have found a cure for AIDS, which prevents some HIV positive persons from seeking out information that oculd actually benefit them. Curandairos are not the only ones who make it difficult to spread accurate information; just recently, the Arch-Bishop of Mozambique said in a speech that many condoms come with HIV already on them. As if a country with an HIV infection rate of close to 20% needs reasons to avoid condom useage. Earlier this week, we got a tour of a district hospital that is very close to where we live. Although district hospitals are typically smaller than provincial hospitals, this hospital was apparently larger, cleeaner, and better equipped than many provincial hospitals. That being said, there really is no way to describe the difference between this hospital and an average hospital in the United States. One number that might catch your attention is the number 1; as in the number of doctors that work at this district hospital that serves thousands and thousands of people. I will try to refrain from publishing any more information like that because statistics are really meaningless and possible irresponsible if they are not accompanied by more information. Until I know more about the health situation here from experience, it will be just as easy for a reader to look up statistics as it would be for me to write them. Although learning about the health status of Mozambique can be a bit daunting at times, I find that I have a greater feeling of hope than of hopelessness. I knew things would be tough here, so i guess I have been spending more time thinking about how certain organizaitons are working for solutions, rahter than allowing statistics to kill my spirit.

The weather here has been farily unpredictable. It often rains, it often is sunny, it often is hot, and it often is slightly chilly. Last night was cold enough that my host mom understood when I told her I was refusing to take my nighttime bucket bath. People in my Peace Corps grounp here have been spotted wearing winter coats at times. My area of "the ´Bique" is extremely falt, with only a few small hills poking out in the distance.

Overall, I am enjoying things here, enjoying the challenge. I definitely have days that are better than others, but as I write this I can honestly say that things are going well. I get along very well with my host family, and I get along very well with the other Peace Corps volunteers in my town, I am enjoying new foods (although last weekend I made french toast and scrammbled eggs with other volunteers), and I have made my case for best American soccer player in my area. I want to take a moment to thank those of you who have sent me messages via mail, e-mail, and this blog; you really canºt imagine how nice it feels to have a connection to my "other" life. Plus, I have received more letters than anyone else here, so it gives my language professors the illusion that I was popular back home. This is all I have time for at this point. If there are things about life here that you are curious about that I have not covered, please let me know and I will do my best to address them in the next entry. I hope things are going well with everyone, and that the resurgence of my Michigan Wolverines has not gone unnoticed. Until next time....

Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0952s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb