It's Been a While Crocodile


Advertisement
Mozambique's flag
Africa » Mozambique » Central
January 14th 2017
Published: January 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

image1 (1)image1 (1)image1 (1)

Thanksgiving Peace Corps nativity scene
Well, where do I even begin? Over the past few months, everything has seemed to just jumble together into a hairball of service. Looking back at previous posts, it seems like time was just dragging by and I was still trying to grasp this whole Mozambican culture thing. Even though I am far from a Mozambican or Portuguese expert, I feel like life here is really starting to fall into place. Daily life includes: waking up, rushing out the door with a loaf of bread or crackers with some type of spread, telling my phase 2 host siblings and landlord’s kid that I am late for work so they have to wait to use my coloring materials until later, attempting not to fall in the mud as I waddle to the hospital, tend to 4-20 HIV support groups at the hospital or reorganize files for the millionth time, with however much time is left before 12pm catch up on the latest global health journal e-newsletter, go to the market to get fresh produce and run into at least 3 people I know, make lunch, read a book or watch a movie, chat with someone (another PCV, from community, or the US),
image1image1image1

Peace Corps Angonia
study language, make dinner and dessert, get in bed to stare at the ceiling and reflect and fall asleep. When all of these tasks have been completed, repeat the following day. On some days, I also sprinkle in: eating at a local restaurant/ food stand, creep over to the orphanage, meet with my English group, language tutoring, hangout with my sitemates, or intensely focus on finding the last word in my word search at the park. I would say that I now have a set routine.

Other thrilling Peace Corps experiences included:

My new sitemate Leslie arrived so we made ravioli with our Zimbabwean friend Blaine

I made a solo journey traversing Malawi, to visit other volunteers on Lake Malawi (Lago Niassa) in Niassa Province, Mozambique.

World AIDS Day (My favorite day of service)

1st PC Thanksgiving abroad: the entire Tete Province (24th, 25th, and 26th group volunteers) gathered together in Chitima, Tete for a fantastic dinner

My English students graduated the 12th grade.

Moz 26 had Reconnect (3 months of completed service conference) in Maputo then we vacationed at Bilene Beach in Gaza province.

My friend Julia from Niassa visited my
image2 (1)image2 (1)image2 (1)

Bilene, Gaza Province, Mozambique
site!



1st PC Christmas abroad: Moz 26 Volunteers from all regions of the country gathered in the sweltering Tete City for a chaotic feast with some South African, Zimbabwean, and Zambian expats.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

image2image2
image2

Making Ravioli
image3image3
image3

the great condom race
image4image4
image4

Lake Malawi/Lago Niassa
image5 (1)image5 (1)
image5 (1)

Christmas with the Corps
image5image5
image5

World AIDS DAY in Calomwe
image6 (1)image6 (1)
image6 (1)

Victoria Falls Crew
image6image6
image6

World AIDS Day
image7image7
image7

Devil's Pool, Victoria Falls, Zimbabwe


Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.029s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb