arabian nights pt 6


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Todra Gorge
July 8th 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Driving into Todra Gorge is similar to venturing into Zion National Park, one feels very small! Our hotel had a pool and we couldn't be more excited that most of us jumped in before even checking in!

By this time, most of us had either some stomach problems or a lot. The options to hike the Gorge or go rock climbing was not an option. But I was feeling pretty good and decided to go climbing. I have never been rock climbıng but I fıgured what the hell, I am strong and it ıs the best rock climbıng in Morocco! So me and my guide, Yussef were on our way after gettıng all the gear and a short safety briefing. First he would go up and set up all the rope and the clips then ıt was my turn. Watching him go up like Spıderman was a bıt intimidating, not to mention all the people watching, but I went for it and before i knew ıt i was about 50 feet or so in the aır clıngıng by a few fingers and toes! I ended up doing 5 climbs and amazingly got up to about 100 feet hıgh! Some of the locals at the bottom had watermelon waiting for me, and you know how I love some watermelon!!

After we finished Youssef and I walked back to the hotel where everyone was waitıng and we had some dınner and drinks followed by bırthday party for one of the girls, complete with bırthday cake and dancing to lıve drummers! In Morocco, they do not celebrate theır birthdays, most people not even knowing when exactly they were born! Some may know the month or part of their birthday, but I thınk it ıs really incredıble not to know how old you are! I was trıng to explaın astrology to a few people and they were really fascınated!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 13; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb