Day 2 - Ramadan still ok!


Advertisement
Morocco's flag
Africa » Morocco » Meknès-Tafilalet » Azrou
August 3rd 2011
Published: August 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

datesdatesdates

one of the many little stalls selling dates on the street
Wednesday

Today again I woke at 1pm having gone to bed just before 6am - got sucked into a good movie on the box.

It is a little warmer today so hopefully this will not make it harder to resist the urge to have a drink - but I will if I need it.

I had to walk to the post office as I wanted to get some stamps to send off a post card. Of course the post office was closed as they are keeping Ramadan hours and closed earlier than usual but it was a nice little walk for me. I had to go via the center and the waiter from the Cedar Hotel cafe (the only cafe in the center open all day) was trying to call me over to have a coffee. Tempted as I was I resisted and continued back home. Last night when we met up with Zak's friends on the street they were impressed that I was joining in with the fasting. They all of course know that I am not Muslim, but they appreciate the effort that I am making to participate in this holy month.

The street we
breakfast tablebreakfast tablebreakfast table

all the goodies to break the fast
live on which I nickname 'meat street' due to all the butchers along it, was abuzz with people already purchasing food for the meal later on.

All in all I had a pretty quiet day, sleeping late has the advantage of my mind knowing it's only 6 hours until my stomach can indulge again. I'm not feeling particularly hungry to tell the truth. Not to say that I wouldn't eat but I am not struggling. However it's funny how we just take eating and drinking for granted. I was downloading something on my computer earlier today and had a mental thought to myself, oh I'll just go get a drink and a snack while this is taking it's time. On auto pilot it was not until I opened the fridge that I remember I'm fasting. The fridge was even more bare than usual and there was no snack to be had anyway!

It's almost 7pm and we will soon be heading to Zak's parents again for breakfast. I'm glad to report I don't have a headache today and I'm feeling fine. I presume the food will be the same as yesterday, but I will know to hold out and keep room for the harira soup today.

Also glad to report of no loss of tempers in view out my window today.

After breakfast we went to the cafe for my caffeine fix. The streets again were filled with families happy with full bellies out enjoying the evening. Same routine as last night, we had a very late dinner and again a quick shake before the call for the fasting to once again begin.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0379s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb