Where exactly is Mauritius again?


Advertisement
Mauritius' flag
Africa » Mauritius » Port Louis
April 9th 2007
Published: April 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

In all honestly, I never heard of this tiny African island before I knew I was going to be one of our ports on Semester at Sea. I was happy just to be getting on land again after a week of incredibly rocky waters due to a slight brush with a cyclone coming around the southern coast of the African continent. It’s a little unsettling to have your plates and utensils move around the table on their own if they aren’t held down. We were told that our three days in Mauritius were going to be equivalent to a Spring Break, which was convenient since there is not a whole lot to do there except go to beaches, which are quite beautiful. The number of bays on the coast are home to a variety of coral and make for a good snorkeling experience. A majority of the students on the ship decided to rent villas near the water since they are relatively cheap at about $10 per person. The whole island was pretty easy on the bank account, especially the bus system, which could take you for over an hour for the equivalent of about $.65. I was able to enjoy this inexpensive ride by myself early one morning because I had to return for a field trip by 8, and felt like one of the locals. The people on the island are a mixed blend of African and Indian and speak French, since they were colonized by them for their sugar years ago. Besides beaches and sugar plantations, Mauritius is also known for being the home of the now-extinct Dodo bird. This discovery is made within your first few minutes there, since Dodos are prominently displayed on all island paraphernalia and must contribute overwhelmingly to souvenir sales. The national museum actually holds the skeleton to the last bird, which is about all that is worth seeing in the museum. For myself, the best time I had in Mauritius was on the last day when I went to an Adventure Park in the mountain area of the island. I felt like I was competing on a Survivor challenge for the hour that my friends and I used hooks to cross bridges, climb past nets, and zipline around the obstacle course. We were at the front which meant we were pretty much had to teach ourselves how to get past and felt like victors when we were the first ones done. I think I know what a marathon runner feels like after a race now, but maybe that was just because I was so sweaty and exhausted from the heat and physical challenge I just completed. The coke they gave us as we walked into the reception are never tasted so satisfying. That night we pulled away from our dock and left Mauritius for good, and I had one the better sleeps of my life.



Advertisement



20th April 2007

absolutely fascinating read, and that includes the India section. You have all my preconceived notions in your head. You truly have enriched your life by all your experiences and observations. I'm in awe, especially when I compare your life with my weekend big decision as to what movie my friend and I will see or my laments about losing all our volleyball games. love you. Loved your postcard
20th April 2007

I insist that upon your return you write to 5 magazines, send them a sample and try to sell your writing. Many would love to hear of semester at sea adventure. I'm not being an aunt; I'm talking as a reader and would-be adventurer. love you

Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0883s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb