Visions of Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya
May 10th 2006
Published: April 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

As I sit in the comfort of a cozy home in Katy, Texas with soft carpet, electricity at all times of the day, running water (even hot at that!), and a soft bed I think of the kids in Kenya. The kids of Into Abba’s Arms with whom I shared a fun filled, educational six months. I think of my room with the cement floor that was separated from the five little girls’ room by a thin piece of plywood that didn’t quite reach the ceiling and how I would hear their giggles each night at bedtime. Of the generator being switched off at 9:15 p.m. and how our home on the hill went from brightly lit (one of the only houses around with lights) to pitch dark in one instant. It wasn’t a problem if you had your flashlight ready or the candles nearby. However at times the kids move the matches or flashlights so we would grope around, bumping into things and each other, trying to find a hint of light. Full moon nights were the best because the moon would shine so high and so bright, illuminating the fields and the house so much that you would think
Jen and Baby JanetJen and Baby JanetJen and Baby Janet

Learning to carry the kids Kenyan style.
it was day outside. It made getting around easier.

I think of the ten boys in their dorm and how it is never easy to get ten boys to go to bed. They have 2 rooms, five to a room with the thin plywood between their two rooms. Anytime we would do anything with all the kids the girls always wanted to be in the girls’ dorm because the boys’ dorm was the stinky dorm. What do you expect with 10 boys and less than desirable showering conditions…what does one expect with 10 boys?!

When I go to a fancy restaurant here…or any restaurant for that fact, or if I go to my refrigerator and see the variety of mouth watering food I think of how our diet in Kenya was very limited and basically bland. Lots of beans and lots of cabbage. Over there eating isn’t for enjoyment, it is for survival. Sometimes, like on the nights they would fry the hundred or so little anchovies that hadn’t been refrigerated, I wondered how I would survive. Or when they made fried cabbage (which was almost every day) and fried kale, I knew I had to make a
Nyumbani Children's HomeNyumbani Children's HomeNyumbani Children's Home

Spending a day with HIV/AIDS children.
back up plan. I started stalking up on cheese, which was a novelty with the staff. Some had never eaten cheese before. Some liked it, some did not. I also introduced them to green olives and it was always enjoyable to see them plop one in their mouth, watch their face contort and spit them out. They would rinse their mouths like there was no tomorrow. No one seemed to like olives.

We have a nice number of chickens on site. However not all of them lay eggs so they are really taking up space. We thought of eating one or two for dinner but the problem is we don’t know which ones lay eggs and which do not. It is to their benefit that there are many of them.

The boys started raising rabbits. First we had one, now we have 10. I suggested that we start eating rabbit meat since we can’t figure out which chickens to kill. They suggested that I don’t make any more suggestions about their rabbits.
I visited a state run orphanage before leaving. There were 98 kids running around of all ages and sizes. We walked to the toddler section to visit Kanini (the little girl that was transferred from the juvenile detention center). There was a little boy around three years of age. He came to look at me while I had a baby in my arms. He seemed to like the fact that my hands were busy as much as he seemed to like the fleshy back part of my arm. That is where he pinched hold of a nice chunk of skin and wouldn’t let go. When he finally did let go it was only to get a better grip. I tried to get the lady’s attention that was working so she could detach him from my body. He finally let go, she smiled and said, “I am sure it is because you are white”. I was thinking, “I am sure it was because he is three and wants someone to pay attention to him”. I like kids, but I like ones that don’t pinch me even better.
The handicapped children receive no therapy at this state-run orphanage. This little girl’s head is shaped like a cone in the back due to laying in her bed all of her life. She is about 5 or 6 years old. She was SO happy for someone to talk to her!

With kids too numerous to count, many of them wishing for a home, many of them too little to know to wish for a home, IAA and ITHM decided we need to build a little house/dorm. We need a place to take 10 babies and toddlers. These tiny people need a place they can call home. A shack with dirt floors without food isn’t sufficient, which is where some will end up if no one shows up to rescue them. They need sponsors to help build them this home. They need 100 people to help raise $50 a month for the next 10 months. This money, on top of what we already have, will get the supplies we need to build a home with wind power (since we don’t have electricity) and to obtain the supplies we need to welcome these children. Of course, the faster the cash comes the quicker the house goes up, the sooner I get a refreshment course on changing cloth diapers. In this wonderful home we hope to have a wonderful washing machine to make the whole cloth diaper ordeal a little less stinky.

I think of our weekly chores of buying firewood to use in our smoky kitchen where some of our food is cooked. It is a room with a fire on the ground and a pot on top of the fire. This saves money on cooking gas. Buying cooking gas, diesel for the generator, kerosene for our small heaters, charcoal for the cooking stove, fruit and veggies from the market, and groceries from the store are more of our chores. And I realize it is because there are people that care and give and pray that we are able to buy all these things for the 16 kids we have. It is a wonderful thing to be part of raising these children.
The smoky kitchen

We have 2 ½ dogs too. Jackson and Monkey are ours and the brown dog only comes at dinnertime. J&M sneak into the kids’ dorm while they are eating, because they know children sometimes put more food on the floor than in their tummies, and they scarf up what they can. They also get a little bit of leftovers if there ever are any remaining. I feel a bit sad for them as dog food is only a dream they will probably never see fulfilled. They know they have it better than the brown dog because he carries his skinny, bony body up to the site every evening and looks sad and famished and we get angry at the neighbor for not feeding him. I was surprised our dogs let him eat what little there is until I realized he and Monkey are playmates. I guess when you are in love you are willing to share even what little you have.

Here in the USA I ride down the smooth highways in a comfortable car and rejoice in the fact that the kids will soon have their van to go to school. Every time we squeeze them into the Musso (our seven seater vehicle) I think of the anchovies that are packed into the plastic bag at the market with their eyes bulging…it just doesn’t look comfortable. I think all the money for the van came within six months…THANK YOU!

I lay in the comfort of a home and dream of a cozy home for the babies. I pray for others to see the same thing in their minds and for many to share out of the goodness of their blessings. I thank God for the $25,000 that was given to IAA and the $1,500 given to ITHM already towards the home and I know it won’t be long until we have all the resources because there are babies in need and there are people that care.

Thank you and God bless!
Jennifer, the staff and children of IAA & all the little ones who will come.

If you would like to help build this home for the babies, or help in any way, shape or form you can make tax-deductible checks out to:

ITHM
23223 S. Warmstone Way
Katy, TX 77494


Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.024s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0638s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb