Another Day of Travel


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province
September 17th 2009
Published: September 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sorry, we were in Kisumu so I tried to upload all my entries, but, as I’ve learned in Kenya, don’t count on anything to work properly. But here I try again…

I did go to bed early, but Todd and Heather decided to have a little wine while they re-packed, and then a little more wine, and finally called it quits at 2:30-3. So while I was in the lobby at 5:30 as Todd told me to be, they were still sleeping. They got up a few minutes later, but still hadn’t finished packing!! But we had just enough time to check-out, grab some buns and cheese for the road and run out the door. We made it with plenty of time to weigh our luggage, as we were each only allowed 10 kg. Well, we had 156 kg in total!! When we bought our tickets on Friday, we were told it would be 20KSh/kg, but Todd told tell the checkin guy that we were quoted 10KSh/kg. He was fine with that. But the cashier wasn’t there yet, and our taxi driver spoke with the lady there, telling them what our project was all about, and she said “well your bags are already on the bus, no point in waiting, you can just board” So we saved 1400 KSh ($20 Cdn). I know this doesn’t sound like much, but to the grandmothers of our orphans, it’s 75% of they’re monthly wage. You’ll hear more of this later.

The bus ride was about 10 hours and got bumpier as we got farther from the city. They are re-paving it, but that only lasted about 3 hours. The last couple hours were super-rough, the driver going all over the road avoiding both speedbumps and potholes. Finally after I thought we’d never arrive, Todd poked me and said we’re here. We drug our 156kg (almost 350 lbs) across the road and up 3 stories to our hotel room. Supper took 1.5 hours and we were the only customers at the restaurant, and then it was time for bed.

I’m catching a cold, so I’m popping pills that Heather’s giving me (some kind of herbal thing) and oregano oil (one of the most hideous things I’ve ever tasted) as well as Tylenol Cold. I hope to keep it at bay, as our week here has just started, and I don’t want to miss a moment of it.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb