Still Wonderful In Kenya


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Western Province » Bungoma
April 16th 2010
Published: April 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello Everyone! I am still loving Kenya!

I am becoming much more comfortable in the community and meeting so many new people everyday. Each day a new friend comes along or a new family invites me over for a meal or a visit. On Tuesday my neighbor Nangella, 24, taught me how to cook Ogali- a traditional African staple. It is made of only water and Maize flour, but there is a certain trick to cooking it correctly. I also learned how beef and kale are prepared over a fire. In return I taught them how to make an omelet! So simple, but the family was very impressed.

Every once and a while I experience moments that are so surreal, that I question weather what I am experiencing is real or not. For example Tuesday evening I was sitting on a small wooden bench, in a mud hut with a thatch roof, next to a fire, cooking Kale that had been growing in the field only 1 hour prior. There were 6 chickens fluttering around next to me on a beam attached to the wall, and the glow of a lantern lit up my surroundings. Meanwhile a mother lifted her baby to her bare breast to feed. Smiles and laughter of other family members filled the room as I attempted to speak their language and try out new Swahilli words. The floor beneath my sandals was dirt and moon stars lit up the sky outside the door. A mere piece of fabric was tied at my waste for my skirt. It was extreme bliss! I love the simplicity of life here.

Tonight I was invited to join another family for dinner, they even said they are going to kill a chicken for me! Killing a chicken for a guest is considered a great honor. I am very excited! As a gift I will bring them 1 kg of sugar. I am learning Swahilli more and more each day...which makes it much easier to communicate with everyone here.


I got to experience the Kabula movie theater here yesterday! It consisted of a small room, 20 wooden benches, a 24-inch TV screen, and 2 speakers. The sound didn't match the pictures, and the subtitles didn't match either one. It was dark, and hot!!! It was awesome!!! It only costs 5 Kenyan Shillings to see a movie too! Which is equivalent to about 7 or 8 cents!


Last weekend a group of us took a day trip to Kabeuye Falls -- it was beautiful! Sparkling water flowing through big round boulders and lush green landscape! AH!~ It took my breath away! After a little rock climbing and jumping we traveled to Myanja where we hiked through the bush for about 30 minutes up a mountain to the highest point in the area! I could see forever!!!



Advertisement



19th April 2010

Oh...Haley Anne it's so good to hear from you. I just figured out how to get to your blog. Sounds amazing. What a Life Experience you will treasure forever! Can't wait to see you and give you a BIG HUG and hear ALL ABOUT IT! I think some of us Brescher's know how to speak Swahilli also!! Ha Ha. Take care! My prayers are with you and your adoptive familes in Kenya. Aunt Geri

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb