The Big Yellow Truck Called Gunga


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Rift Valley Province » Eldoret
June 11th 2008
Published: August 20th 2008
Edit Blog Post

After the exhaustion of Kili it was nice to get back to 'civilisation' and head back to my lovely hostel in Nairobi. I was too tired and sore to do anything there so spent the day relaxing before heading over to the poshy la la hotel to meet the guys on the truck. I had a huge fantastic room to myself even with a bath!!!
After chilling in my room and watching King Kong on tv (quite apt since I was hoping to see gorillas!) I nervously went to the bar to the "night before trip" drinks. I could see a few people in there that looked like possible backpackers but really wasnt sure so went to get a drink and dutch courage first. Heading to some guys I asked them if they were from Oasis and thankfully they were, we all got chatting and getting to know each other and I was relieved to find everyone was really nice!! A couple thought I was the tour leader, obviously not but since Kate (tour leader) and Pat (driver) were a bit late it was a reasonable assumption!
The next day after barely sleeping we started officially with handing over of large sums of money and meeting Gunga our transport and home for the next 90 days. 12 passengers but only 3 of us travelling all the way to Jo'burg most of the others getting off in Cape Town. Our journey took us out past the Great Rift Valley a stunningly beautiful place distracted only by the miserable weather. Our first camp was Lake Naivasha, Kenya where the first thing we did was take a boat out and see loads of hippos! We also saw huge kingfishers and Sea Eagles and the campsite was covered in monkeys! Kate cooked our first meal and the group got to know each other finishing in us getting very drunk and the nicknames starting!
Day two was a trip to Crater Lake with Mark, Hollie, Murray and Kimi (James) starting with a visit to thousands of flamingoes and more hippos. Once in the park we were allowed to walk through and came up close to Giraffe, Zebra, Thompson Gazelle, Dik Dik and many more animals. It was amazing to see them all quietly grazing not at all bothered by us. We also saw a camel randomly walk out near the lake! From there we headed to Joy Adamson's house - Elsamere and heard about her life story, I succumbed and bought a painting she did of Elsa (even though I have nowhere to put it!!) And I managed to earn the nickname "The Veteran"!!
Our next night was spent bush camping where some local women helped us chop firewood with their huge machettes. It was then over the border to Uganda for the next part of the trip.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



23rd August 2008

I'm so Jealous!
Hey Roberto, I finally managed to read through all of your adventures and i'm just green with envy! Fantastic that you climbed Killi, it sounded like you felt every metre! Have a safe trip, keep in touch as much as you can and just bloody enjoy it mate! Lots of hugs, Les n Joe xxx

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0322s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb