Day 1


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Nairobi Province
March 27th 2015
Published: March 27th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Alright.. Blog post the first. Tomorrow I'll try to write something about how all of this started.. But for now here's some ramblings about today brought to you by lack of sleep:

I touched down in Nairobi about halfway through the most recent Hunger Games flick. It was surprisingly good and I was actually a little bummed I wasn’t able to finish it. Nevertheless I stepped off the plane with wide-eyed excitement. This didn’t last long however as when I reached the front of the line at customs I was informed that I would need to purchase a visa even though I would only be spending the night in a nearby hotel before departing for Tanzania in the morning. At this point the agent simply says “give me $50.” To which I replied “Isn’t there some type of less expensive transit visa?” He was fairly insistent that I would not be getting by until I hooked him up with his boy Ulysses and I really didn’t feel much like spending $130 ($80 hotel) to spend about 10 total hours in Kenya. We went back and forth for a little while until he relented and said “okay give me $20.” To which I had to sheepishly say “I don’t have any cash, where’s the closest ATM?” In retrospect I should’ve brought some $USD with me. I was planning on making a small withdrawal for purposes of tipping my driver and maybe ordering some food at the hotel but that was it. So Officer C. for corrupt tells me “alright get me 3000 shillings (about $30) and I’ll hold your passport until then.” I didn’t seem to have much choice in the matter so I set out to find an ATM.

I withdrew 4000 and went to head back the way I came. I was informed that I couldn’t do this and would have to walk around the terminal. I did this until I found the only entrance into the airport, a single wooden door. I entered with a man who was in the same predicament as me and as I fished for my boarding pass he and the TSA agent or whatever the Kenyan equivalent is got into a heated argument in Swahili. It was a bit awkward as every once in a while they would gesture at me. I think they sensed my unease because as their argument seemed to peak they switched to English and the possibly Kenyan civilian stormed out. I was let through without any difficulties as the TSA guy just kind of waved me through while complaining loudly about the confrontation to a female agent. I finally get back to the gentleman at customs and attempt to give him 2000 shillings ($20) to which he responds “get me $20” and turns to rob, I mean help, the next patron. I try to give him 3000 which is actually just over $30 and he still refuses. Feeling more than a little frustrated and worried that my ride would take off if left waiting too long I found the closest American looking guy and ask if I can exchange 2000 shillings for $20 which he graciously accepted. So with a crisp $20 clutched in my fist I returned to customs to claim my passport and visa. On my way out I ran into the gentleman who had been arguing with the security officer and he asked if I would serve as a witness if necessary as he had filed a complaint. I said “sure, if I’m needed before I make my way to the front of the exit line because I have a ride to catch.” Thankfully this didn’t come to pass as I couldn’t really tell who was in the wrong since they were speaking a language I didn’t understand.

After that everything went swimmingly. My driver was very friendly, the hotel room is nice, and the samosa that I ordered was delicious. Now I think I’ll try to get some sleep as I’m to wake up in about 5 hours to head back to the airport.



Cheers.

Advertisement



28th March 2015

What's for dinner?
What was the nasty looking stuff on the plate?
28th March 2015

Nasty? It wasn't that bad..
It was samosa chaat. I think it's an Indian cuisine. Anyway I think it was mostly beef and green onions.

Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb