First Impressions


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Eastern Province
April 30th 2010
Published: April 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

First Impressions

I'm in Kenyaaa!
Wednesday morning, at around 4.00 we safely arrived in Nairobi. We then took a cab into town and checked in at some dogy hotel recommended by our cab driver. Apart from being a bit dodgy, dark, having little air in the room and a few cockroaches it was quite a nice place 😊 I shared a room with Gabriel, luckily otherwise I would have felt a bit unsafe, although there were some guards in the hotel.
Our hope was to move to Kibwezi the same day, but eventually we didnt leave untill yesterday around 17.00.
So we've spent almost two days in Nairobi, very busy city, packed with people and matatu's (small vans which are extensively used for transportation). In the beginning I had to get used to the city, and the fact that in general I was the only white one out there. But I must say it's quite nice, and pretty safe as well. I the evening we went out for a walk, and only when we entered a desolated place, where the only people on the street were chewing leaves (drugs), we felt a tiny bit in danger, but we moved away quickly from there. Today Gabriel told me that they are actually scared of Mzungo (white people) becauese they think we're armed, hehe. So even when I thought Gabriel was my guardian, it's actually the other way around 😉
We had a drink in a bar, and watched a football match, while music was played at club volume. Loved it though, all great music to dance on! Funny to see that every now and then someone would stand up from his/her seat to dance net to the table, I really really felt like dancing as well, but I was too shy to do the same, maybe next time...

Yesterday around 17.00 the driver was (finally) ready to bring us to Kibwezi, our final destination! We travelled in style, in a brand new jeep lend to us by Nairobi University, to use overhere in the field. Alongside the road there was a lot to see and in the end I was overwhelmed by all the impressions. Of course there was the great view, beautiful green fields and hills, really stunning from time to time. ... and I saw giraffes and antelopes next to the road! They were a bit far away though, so you wont find any pictures of them yet.
But apart from that it was also the first time I got to see the poor side, many people walking next to the road, young/old, kids bare feet, mothers with baby's, some carrying a heavy load, others just sitting. We also passed quite some sall villages which were build almost on the road, if a truck would tumble there it would smash a whole lot of little houses/shops.

We arrived in Kibwezi around 20.00, and first went to Elise, Jasper and Ronja's place (my supervisor, her husband and their daughter). They saved some dinner for us, and we had a nice chat, and Ronja immediately started to read all kinds of books to me (including platvoetje). She's 3 years old, and very cute and outgoing. After dinner Jasper brought us to our guesthouse. We both have a single self contained room, looks very nice, apart from the fact that the rooms are very dark and a feel a bit locked up. They charge us a lot of money though, and therefore we decided to move.
Today we firs went to talk to some people of the district to inform them on our plans, which went smoothly 😊
So then we went into town, where fridays market was taking place, we had a stroll down the market and sat down for some lunch. Generally the food is very good here, and you'll always find several dishes with chicken/meat, veggies and either rice, french fries, or ugali on the menu. Ugali is the local food, Kenyans love it, its some kind of very thick porridge which you can actually cut, its heavy and feels like a rock in your stomach! Keeps you going for a while though 😊 We then undertook our expedition "better (cheaper!!) guest house", and found one! Seems to be really nice, and we just received a call that they agreed upon the price we negotiated, so we'll move there tomo!

Tonight we had dinner at our guesthouse which was just great! Actually we thought it was raining so we planned to sit inside, but it was just raining bugs. So no we're outside, and bugs are occasionally hitting our heads. As far as the creepy animals concerned, so far I encounterd some small cockroaches, bugs, a huge grasshopper kinda thing and Gabriel just threw a frog out of his room. So far so good.

Ok I'll ry to put this to an end. This weekend I will prepare myself for the cassava feeding study, which will be 'my thing', and which is going to be carried out one week from now. Monday I will travel to Nairobi together with Jasper to pick up the secons car and some supplies, hopefully I can make my first Matatu ride one of these days 😊

Next time I'll be writing about our first days in the field and the school visits!

Annemarie


Advertisement



1st May 2010

Well, don't mind the bugs too much, I am sure they know too : All white people carry a gun ! Be cool and Enjoy your stay! Cheers 'till the next story,
1st May 2010

Blij met eerste bericht
He Annemarietje, wat fijn te lezen dat het allemaal lekker gaat daar! (ben stiekum wel een beetje opgelucht) Ik hoop snel met je te kunnen skypen. xx mam
1st May 2010

I enjoyed your Kenya post. It sounds like you are having a good time there. My blog is looking for travel photos. If you have time, email us some at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com or check us out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com Continued fun on your travels, Eric
2nd May 2010

You are doing great!!
Hi Annemarie. Its nice to read your comments, except ofcourse the cockroaches. I think you have to get used to those animals. My englisch is not as good as yours, but i will try to answer all of your impressions. I am impressed about all the things you see and write about. Keep on writing! Take care. kisses and a big hug, André and Sonja and ofcourse Joost.
9th May 2010

bugs?!
Hi! I found your blog! And I read: 'raining bugs'?! OMG! But as long as they don't have visible heary legs, you'll be fine!;) x Paulien
12th May 2010

Jambo! It all sounds so familiar! Wish I was there with you! I see you have already met the TIA (This is Africa) way of doing in Africa... everything takes time ;) Wait till you have some chapati, that tastes sooooo nice, ask if they can make it for you. I am very excited to read the rest of your adventures. Gr Sas

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 59; dbt: 0.0761s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb