More from the Brown's


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Eastern Province » Maua
May 9th 2008
Published: May 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

ChurchChurchChurch

This picture was taken at the church service we attended on Sunday.
Today I don’t have too many new pictures to add, because we have been sticking around the hospital this week and not travelling about. So, the pics aren’t too exciting… but I hope you still enjoy them! We have had fun figuring out what all we can cook with the supplies around here. We can get most groceries in town, but there are many things which you have to travel quite a distance to find (no takeout food, it even takes one hour to drive to the nearest store which sells cheese!). I included a picture of Tony making chapatti, the Kenyan bread which reminds me of Naan (the Indian bread). It is very good! Also, Tony made a “southern meal” which included fried chicken, beans, and a green called “sukumawiki”, which is a lot like collard greens. Also, some corn bread made by me thanks to Nana giving me the recipe over the phone.


Tony has been working very hard on the hospital video. He has decided to make two videos: one a short 5 minute video which will be uploaded to the hospital’s website, which I will provide once the website is ready to go (Katherine is
ChapattiChapattiChapatti

Yummy Kenyan bread made by Tony.
working on it, and she asked me not to include a link until it is completed). The other video will be on a DVD with a menu link to each category of the hospital, including Outpatient, Palliative (the AIDS/HIV community outreach program), Inpatient, and the School of Nursing. I have assisted Tony in gathering footage/video for the DVD, but most of it Tony has done on his own. He said that at the end of the DVD he would put credits, stating, “Producer: Tony Brown, Director: Tony Brown, Script Writer: Tony Brown, Videographers: Tony and Starla Brown” 😊 Ok, probably he won’t do that!!
This week I have worked in the trauma room again, and seen more very interesting cases. I am keeping a list in my journal of all of the medical conditions I have witnessed and participated in care for while I have been here. I am getting to know many of the nurses and nursing students here at the hospital, and I am really enjoying my time with them. Tony has gotten to know many of the pastors and chaplains of the hospital, and they have told him that we fit right in to the groups here
Chef TonyChef TonyChef Tony

He has caught on to many great African recipes.
and they hope we will have a long-lasting relationship with them and continue to return.


So, now it is the weekend. Tomorrow (Saturday) we will go to two different churches with a pastor named Hosea for a visit, and Tony will be preaching at a Swahili service on Sunday (Pentecost Sunday), which will be translated for him of course. That leaves one more full week of work, then a couple of days off for getting ready to leave. Time has flown by!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

American Southern food in KenyaAmerican Southern food in Kenya
American Southern food in Kenya

Me enjoying a great southern flavored meal.


Tot: 0.182s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 56; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb