Language, nests, and 2 weeks left.


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
November 22nd 2010
Published: November 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Sorry it's been a while since I last wrote. Things have been ploding along and have fallen into a rhythm so I haven't noticed the time passing. At this time I've been in Vipingo for 8 weeks, and have 2 1/2 weeks left. It one sense that feels like a long time, but the past 2 months have gone by so fast that I know 2 1/2 weeks will just fly by.

I was lent a bicycle in my second week, and it's made getting around much easier. The road is like an obstable course, and you're constantly dodging rocks, potholes, and the occasional goat. I think all the askari (guards) at the gates recognize me now, and the always have friendly words for me when I pass through.

In terms of nests the last while has been quite quiet. This is the slow time of the year for nests; according to past data March is the busiest time.There haven't been any new nests since 13 October, and that nest is now gone. The last 6 nests all hatched early because it's been so hot the last few weeks.

One thing I've discovered about the rain here: when it does rain, it pours. My house has a sheet metal roof, so the rain sounds like thunder whenever it happens. A few mornings ago it was so loud I couldn't hear myself think.

In terms of computer stuff I've now set to work doing the first draft of a proosal letter to ask for money from companies to help establish offices and artificial ponds for the turtle group. I've never done anything like this before, so there is a bit of a learning curve, but I think I've got the hang of it.

I thought I'd talk a bit about some interesting things I've learned about since being here. One is something Charles and I talked about on a patrol one morning, and it involves words meaning different things in different places, or in other languages. In Kiswahili if you say someone is gettign stronger you say they are getting big. If this is translated directly into English, most people would take it to mean that you are calling them fat. Charles said that it was important to learn and to understand these differences so you wouldn't accidentaly insult someone. He used a similar example with Kiswahili. In don't remember the word, but if you use it in Kenya you are calling someone your friend. Hop over to Tanzania, and that same word means that someone is a homosexual. An important thing to know the different meaning of a word.

Another interesting thing I've found is the use of the word 'sorry.' In Kiswahili the translation of 'sorry' is 'pole,' and it's used a lot in everyday life. For example, if you trip on a rock, drop a pensil, or break a piece of chalk, a person next to you will say 'pole,' but the meaning is a little different. They aren't saying 'I'm sorry, that's my fault,' but 'I'm sorry, Ifeel your pain.' A Kenyan voluntee explained this to me in August when I asked him about it. I'd been getting quite confused when I'd trip inthe forest (and I tripped a lot XD) and any Kenyan nearby would say 'sorry.'

That's all the news that I can think of for now. I go back to Shimoni for a visit in December before going to Mombasa for a few days, and then Liam arrives just before Christmas.

I'll definitely try writing a few mpre entries between then and now to keep you all updated.

Advertisement



22nd November 2010

i,m so sorsy I.ve been sobad about sendnnotes
I'm sitting here watching T.V. nd i realize you have been away so long and I have beenvery bad not to write more. I'm very slack with corresponding . I think about you every day and miss you, but the computer scares me, I do try but mess it up, here goes. I really have not a lot to write about as my life is very dull. i'm not complaining but i go for coffee with th widows on Thurs. groceries about twice a month with your folks or K&k, lulnch occastionaly with friends. We have one potluck once amonth here at the apt. tea every other month ,dinners ect. with family and so. I;m lucky to such a great family and good friends and am happy with my life. when you are home it will be perfect, but it's great to read your blogs and share your adventures. so dear remember I love you very much even tho I am such apoor correpondent , also excuse the typing hope you can read it. counting the days till you are home but have fun enjoy Liams exploring with you and your African experience. Love XX&OOs from G.ML
23rd November 2010

I find it hard to believe you have been gone so long and I'm so looking forward to having you back. We're off to the Perrotts Friday for a hiking wind-up pot luck supper. We'll all be thinking, and maybe talking about you. Love, Mum
26th November 2010

Nice Blog
Nice Blog! I see that your blog is about travel. I want to share some info with you. Citymedia foundation(http://citymediafoundation.org) has launched www.city.vi , a network of 68,000 city specific video sites, where you can share videos about cities and regions across the world. like for Paris videos you can visit http://Paris.vi . You can also find out about other cities that you are interested in. Hope to see you there. suparnadilip@gmail.com www.city.vi

Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb