New Hope Utd


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
June 10th 2007
Published: June 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Kevin and JimmyKevin and JimmyKevin and Jimmy

This is so beautiful, I could hang it on my wall!
Wow thank you all so much for your comments, messages and emails! I can't directly reply to comments but I do appreciate them all so much and it's really nice to know that so many people are reading about what I'm doing - it makes doing this blog seem a lot more worthwhile!
This past week has been really good. There was a period of a week or so that I felt really useless at New Hope and there was no need for me. All the classes had teachers, there's a woman who is hired to cook and clean so nothing to do there and I spent a few days sleeping on a bed and talking politics with Teresa (a permanent American volunteer). But thanksfully it soon passed! I taught for two days this week and it was SO good! Class Four (aged between 12 - 14) consists of about 7 pupils who I absolutely adore and get on with so well. They listen keenly and then crack on with the work which I give them but they're also really cheeky and bicker among themselves sometimes but only in a jokey way - for example Jospeh's pencil disappeared so he
Lookin' CoolLookin' CoolLookin' Cool

Baraka, Wilson, Eric, Faith and Mother
stood up and announced "who is the thief? who is the thief of my pencil?" so everyone looked around and a girl called Dorin had it so everyone in the class pointed at her and said "Dorin is the thief! Aaaaaah!". Two of the boys are always taking the mickey out of each other - Juma tells Eric that he "has a big head" and Eric tells Juma that he has "funny lips" but they manage to slip it subtly into conversations! I really felt like I was back in secondary school and doing practical jokes and taking the Micky out of people! The following day I taught Class 3 (10 - 12) who are also really keen learners and great fun to teach! They love to do singing and dramas and telling stories and one boy, Michael aged 11, recited the entire life story of Jesus!
On Friday it was Maria and Sadie's last day so we had a little party for the kids who live at New Hope and they loved it! We brough in crisps and jam sandwiches and played some music on an iPod and had little sweetie bags and, best of all, face paints!! The kids absolutely loved them and they all got painted different things - including one boy who had the American flag on his face! I'm becoming quite the little photographer and have managed to snap some beautiful shots of some of the kids.
Being Football Coach is turning out more expensive that I had imagined! Although extremely keen to play against other teams, New Hope haven't got much in the way of equipment. I managed to find a seamstress who is going to tailor-make an entire football kit (11 jerseys, one goalkeeper jersey and 12 shorts) for 50GBP. Some of the boys have trainers and they have one (possibly 2) footballs between them. If anyone knows of some football equipment (shin pads, boots, socks, footballs, cones, bibs, anything really!) that you could donate to New Hope, they would be SO gratefully received! I can arrange for them to be flown out here for next to nothing (or possibly for literally nothing!) through a company called London Air Travel who make donations to New Hope regularly so please get in touch, even if it's just one sock or something!!
Hope everyone is doing well at Uni or work or 6th form or whatever you're doing! The weather is beginning to pick up in Mombasa now so I hope the same is true of England!
Love to you all, kwa heri!

Advertisement



10th June 2007

"your mama" jokes
ah, the good old days of taking the mick out of fat kids, like spud... or vulnerable kids, like spud... or kids who suffer from a minor oedipus complex, like spud! and jack for that matter... gald to hear its going well out there mate! i've got some old football boots that are somewhere around a size 5-6, and i might be able to track down some socks if that'd help? let me know how i can send them and they're yours. i've got my first exam tomorrow... its odd, i've been wanting to get them done for so long, but now they're here i don't feel up to it! prayers would be most helpful :) really can't wait for the summer now, it'll be SO good to have you spud and jack back at Soul so we can hear all the stories etc... and take the piss outta spud again... for old times sake. miss you mate.
10th June 2007

The pictures you included on this entry look really nice, they all look so happy and cheeky! The lessons sound pretty entertaining, I'm glad it's picked up for you now. "Funny lips" is such an entertaining insult! Hope the next week is good as well, love you xxxxxx
10th June 2007

Football collection
If anyone has any unwanted or secondhand football gear can you get in touch with me as I'll organise getting it sent off. Thanks
12th June 2007

hello there
wow. I'm quite jealous of you really. I went to the Gambia a couple of years ago, and the simplicity of life is so cool, the joy of the children at just clapping your hands, and the little communication that you can manage to create between people of such different ..well, lives. Those pictures are gorgeous too. Although it's hard to take a bad picture of people out there I'm sure. I hope it's all going good, I mean its not all easy flow, and trusting these exams go okay, I'll see you Birmingham! Hannah xx And if you're struggling with working out who I am, I was blonde girl who you met at soul survivor, friend of Claire Morris. :)
25th June 2007

Hello from Codsall
Hi Ben, Really enjoyed reading your blog! We are glad you're enjoying your time out there. Heather and I tried to send a comment some time ago, but failed (dumb Aunties!). Hope you get this one, I've got Ruth to sort out the computer, so it should send. Ruth: I have just finsihed my GCSEs, only seems like yesterday you were doing yours and now you're on your gap year and off to uni! Roy has just come back from the South of France on a french exchange and had a good time. Mark has gone today to France on a school trip, he was soo excited! The children all look happy in the photos. Mum says she's glad you're enjoying teaching, she's looking forward to the 6 week holidays! We're off to St.Ives for 2 weeks when we break up, hope the weather improves. Then we're climbing Snowdon with Heather, Barry, Jade and Guy, you and Katie should join us if you're free! We just realised you might be home by now! So Hopefully you can read this in Grove, doesn't time fly! Love Julia and Ruth xxx

Tot: 0.088s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb