New Hope and Haller Park


Advertisement
Kenya's flag
Africa » Kenya » Coast Province » Mombasa
May 4th 2007
Published: May 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sunday SchoolSunday SchoolSunday School

One of the Sunday School classes at the local church
Goodness gracious it's been a while! Well this is New Hope Children's Rescue and Rehabillitation Centre. It currently has 39 orphans living here full-time and approx 150 children who attend the day school during term times. It's so difficult to describe the atmosphere and feel of the place so hopefully the photos will give you some idea. The orphans here are all so positive and cheerful it's difficult to understand due to some of the things that they've been through. We took them all to the hospital this week to get HIV tested and out of the 39 only 1 came back positive (which we already knew about) although 5 came back inconclusive so they will have to be taken back again in 3 months. There's so much to say about the place that I just can't seem to get the write words! The building/location itself is rather run-down and doesn't have running water and only just has electricity (which is prone to cutting off occasionally). There's no playground or outside area for them to play which is a real shame but there is a "field" (large sandy area with palm trees and piles of rubbish) about 10 minutes walk
Computer RoomComputer RoomComputer Room

Some of the orphans in the computer room with the nurse
which is where we take them in the afternoon for football etc. The kids' ages range from 3/4 up to 16/17 and most of them above the age of 6 can speak relatively good English. I don't know really what else to say about it - it's something you definitely have to experience to understand the full-scale of but if there's anything specific you'd really like to know or see then drop me a line and I'll make sure I include it in the next blog.

Apart from being at the centre during the day I've also had some evenings out and weekend free-time to enjoy Mombasa! Last week I went to Haller Park, which is like a large wildlife park but a bit more exotic than the English ones! They had hippos, crocodiles, giraffes, monkeys and giant tortoises among others! I've also been out with my housemates a lot to pubs and clubs and bars and restaurants! I'm getting on really well with everyone and I'm really starting to feel like "one of them" now which is great. I've got a room to myself at the moment (nicknamed the Sun Room as it's the hottest in the house
Haller ParkHaller ParkHaller Park

Me feeding a giraffe!
and in my words is like "living in the sun"!) but with 2 people leaving this weekend and 3 new people arriving it will probably all change! It's a bit strange as there's only 4 guys and about 10 girls but that's the way it is! A few of us are off to Diani Beach this weekend and to Lamu next weekend so it's going to be an action-packed couple of weeks but should be so cool! Looking forward to hearing from you all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Fort JesusFort Jesus
Fort Jesus

Karen, Katie, Alex, Juliet and Rona being sailors!


4th May 2007

Wow!
It was great to see a picture of you feeding the giraffe Ben. It just all sounds so fantastic, but very sobering too. The way the children are so positive and we moan about really insignificant things like people being rude to us etc! Puts life into perspective doesn't it? So glad you're getting on with everyone. Take care, love you. xxxx
5th May 2007

Giraffe!!
I love that picture of you feeding the giraffe, it looks so cool! You do sounds like your having an amazing time, i'm so please that you're getting on well with the people that you are living with. I hope that you have a good tan by now, you've been out there for a wee while now it should be well on its way heehee Nothing much is going on here, I'm in the middle of my exams, and while a lot of my friends went to the beach today i opted for staying inside and revising....I am seriously regretting this decision! I only have three more weeks of Uni and then I have finished my first year, I cannot believe just how quickly the time is going, I am begining to feel quite old! And just think, you get to do all this in Sept/oct!! You are going to love it Well i shall bring this to a close, yet again I have rambled on about nonsense, but I am so glad that you are having a good time, we're thinking of you God bless x x x
5th May 2007

Hey! Wow - does sound like you are having an awesome time! I'm glad you are all settled in and that nothing has been to hard so far. Have you been able to phone home at all? I hope it's not too weird having people swapping over all the time - I guess you'll make a lot of friends even if you only meet people for a few weeks. The pictures are so lovely - are you able to build good relationships with the children there? And what about church? - Are you helping out at the one in the picture (of the Sunday school) or is that one that you attend - what language do they speak in them? Sorry! I think I've just asked about a million questions! I have a cold at the moment and lab work, neither is very fun! Hope you have a great time at the beach and that you are taking gazillions of photos so we can see them all when you get back. Love Claire xxx
6th May 2007

Alright buddy
Hi there, sorry I aint commented earlier. Sounds as if your having a good time, and I'm properly jealous you got to feed a Giraffe! It's suddenly got bizarrely warm for May here (though I suspect nothing like as hot as where you are!) so Spud, Amy, Megan, Dave, Lizzie and I were playing frisbee on the green yesterday. But yeah, generally hope your doing well and are coping with not having my company for the last few weeks (I wish!). Stuart

Tot: 0.073s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0371s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb