Living the Village Life


Advertisement
Guinea's flag
Africa » Guinea » Labé
March 16th 2008
Published: March 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Beth & BrienneBeth & BrienneBeth & Brienne

Doing the dishes at Beth's sweet house.
24 February 2008
Abdelrahmane just told me that heaving breathing outside my window every night was sorcery and that when he hears he runs away. Scared out of my mind, I kept asking him questions After about 20 minutes and thanks to the English-Pular dictionary that some missionaries made, I learned that “bird of sorcery” means owl in Pular. This revelation made me feel better until I remembered that I was taught that owls go “hoo,” not breathe heavily. But then again, I’m not an owl expert. Maybe Guinean owls don’t go “hoo” and just breathe really loudy and creepily.

6 March 2008
Things I’m doing that don’t surprise anyone at home


Things I’m doing that you probably don’t believe

* Cooking (Mac & Cheese and Mashed Potatoes not out of a box ::gasp:😊
* Only wearing skirts ... I don’t feel comfortable wearing pants
* Wearing glasses most days (send me contact solution)
* Going to sleep between 9-11 PM
* Bathing on a regular basis
* Almost enjoying shopping (I can do it almost entirely in Pular and the Guineans get a kick out of it)
* Waking up every day at 7 at the latest, completely naturally
* Still shaving
* Prefering the company of females
* Wearing my hair up everyday (it’s hot & they look at me funny if it’s down)


A day in the life of a PCV in a Guinea village


12 March 2008
Today at 8:30 AM, I listened to a baby being born. He’s crying now which makes me think things went well. Even though the mother was at the Health Center, she was alone for most of the delivery. There’s no water here so a neighbor brought over a small bucket of water (probably about 3 liters). Even then she brough it after the baby was out and it was probably well water. The pre-natal technician who helped out when she was actually in the room, put on gloves at some point. Even though there’s no water, her gloves are spotless. I’m not sure how that works out.

The baby’s still crying which I take as a good sign. The neighbor who got the water also went and “cleaned” the metal bowl that caught everything expelled frm the mother (she dumped it in the latrine and took it back in the delivery room.) She then went to the pharmacy for the technician and got some things.

I can hear the mother laughing a little.

The doctor (the only doctor) just walked by me with scissors and tape. He doesn’t have gloves on. I’m outside in the courtyard.

A woman who I believe in the mother-in-law (she looks exactly like the man who’s been in and out of the courtyard 4 times now) brought a couple pagnes (a meter of cloth).

The doctor just came out from cutting the cord. I ask if they’re okay. He says yes. It’s a girl. It’s the woman’s 7th child.

Periodic healthy crying is still coming from the room. The neighbor has come with more water. One of the containers is an old aluminum can that I see people take to the latrine all the time.

The technician comes out of the room and calls out my name. The baby is in her arms. She throws it’s naked, pale body up in the air a couple of times. I tell her to be careful and she laughs. They wrap the baby in one of the pagnes and the neighbor holds her. The technician takes off the gloves now, repeatedly touching the outsides. She sets them aside in the delivery room. They will be reused.

The neighbor as now come back with a smaller pagne. She’s tearing it up. I can hear water splashing. She must be cleaning the mother.

I can’t help it, I go and look at the baby lying now on the bed near me. Her grandmother is watching her now. She’s paler than I am with dark black hair. She’s sucking on the blanket and her thumb. She opens her eyes a little.

The technician comes back now, this time with vaccinations for the new born. My health center is lucky enough to have a gas powered refridgerator so we always have vaccines ready.

The mother is now walking ut of the delivery room. She lies down n the table that the baby was just on and her mother-in-law lays a pagne over her as a blanket. She sees me and smiling does the series of greetings as if nothing has happened. She laughs because I respond in Pular.

The technician has taken the baby into the main building, I’m guessing to be weighed. She carries it like a doll, with one hand, on the baby’s back. She drops her keys, which were in the other hand. When she reaches down to pick them up, I see the baby’s head falling back, something that might cause a lawsuit in the US but here is only noticed by me.

It’s 9:30 now. A random woman comes into the courtyard. They tell her about the birth and she goes and greets the resting mother. Anyone can come in. Women linger and help out in some way. Men stay away after the initial curious glance.

Ash just fell on me, someone’s burning trash nearby. There’s a used syringe on the ground in front of me. I hear Shakira playing at the cafe across the street.

The man who I believe is the husband brings his wife a cup of tea, “lipton” in Pular. They make her sit up to drink it. He immediately leaves before she’s even sat up.

The mother is now chatting with women that have decided to stop by. She doesn’t seem to mind as more and more women, with children of their own tied to their backs came into the open room. She exemplifies the infinite strength of Guinean women.

The father comes back to return the cup to one of the cafes. He comes back again 15 minutes later. He’s bought a set of clothes for the baby. He gives them to the technician and leaves yet again.

She’s 3.5 kg. In one week there will be a large baptism where everyone will come and give presents. It’s there that she’ll be given a name.

It’s 10:30. The baby leaves the health center in the arms of a woman who already has a child tied to her back.

13 March 2008
Random notes:



Advertisement



Tot: 0.211s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 50; dbt: 0.122s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb