Last days in Forecariah


Advertisement
Guinea's flag
Africa » Guinea » Forecariah
February 7th 2008
Published: February 7th 2008
Edit Blog Post

OumouOumouOumou

My amazing, wonderful, host sister
31 January 2008
I can't believe January is over. Everyone here will agree that December was one of the longest months of our lives but January just disappeared. I'm not ready to leave Forecariah. We only have 5 full days left here. That's crazy! I don't want to say goodbye to my family. I'm really gonna miss Oumou. I took for granted having a girl my age to talk to. She's a rare find here and I'm extremely grateful for her. Generally only guys can communicate easily in French (outside of big cities). All the women in their 20s stopped going to school long ago and probably have a couple kids and a house to take care of. It's the men (young and old) who have the language and time to talk to me. This is worrying the hell out of me for my time at site. Luckily, my counterpart is a woman so she'll hopefully understand a bit. And her 14 year old daughter is really smart and hangs out with me sometimes.

1 February 2008
Sitting at the bureau right now with most of the rest of public health. All we have is one language class today. First
FamilyFamilyFamily

My father, three mothers, and myself in one of my mom's restaurant (which the other Trainee's and I have dubbed Applebee's, because we've never had a bad meal there.)
lazy day of training and unfortunately the last as well. It just got really hot out. Think I'll just stay on this couch all day.

I had my second sensabilization (presentation) yesterday. It was about the three food groups and making sure that kids are eating enough meals. We gave it at the hospital in a patients' room.

3 February 2008
My sister just scrubbed my feet. She said they weren't clean enough and I was doing it too slowly. So ridiculous. I just laughed the entire time because of how useless I am in this country ... and it tickled when it wasn't hurting like hell. (Guineans do everything "avec force.")

Justin just came over to watch me puke. Day of hilarity.


Advertisement



7th February 2008

i love the dress... stop puking or it'll fall right off of you!
8th February 2008

So true. I love you :)

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb