Monkeys, Markets, and Sand, Oh My!


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division
February 7th 2007
Published: February 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

So I've been in The Gambia for a month now, which I think is unbelievable. Where have I gone so far?

The first place we went was Bijilo Forest Park, which is on the other side of Serrekunda from where we live. It's pretty neat because monkeys live there and don't mind the tourists. The forest is thick there, which showed us how this area looked before all of the recent development/deforestation.

The Banjul market is another touristy place we went the first week. It basically consists of many rows of little stands along the streets selling various items, fabric shops, and an area of only shops with tarps overhead and no roads. The last section is like a maze and reminds me of being underground. There are two main markets in this area, and the Banjul market is where most of the tourists go, so locals try very hard to sell to tourists. People followed me trying to sell necklaces and sunglasses. Also, beware because the price they give at first will be much higher than it should be, especially for tourists. We wanted to buy fabric. For 12 meters, they offered a price of 1200 dalasis (US
Trees!Trees!Trees!

In Bijilo Forest Park
$40); a good price would have been less than 400 dalasis.

The other main market is the Serrekunda market, where most locals shop. We still get harassed more than Gambians, but it's not as bad as the Banjul market. Also, no matter which market I'm shopping at, it's good to have a Gambian friend who can help negotiate and knows how much things should cost.

We've also been to 3 different beaches. The student union at our university set up a really fun picnic for us at Paradise Beach in Sanyang. That is my favorite beach so far because it's more deserted and out in the wilderness. Bakau is a decent beach, but I've heard there are lots of bumsters there. Our regular beach is at Leybato in Fajara. There's a good restaurant and shaded pavilions right by the beach, but the best part about Leybato is the hammocks.

The last touristy place I've been in The Gambia so far is Arch 22, in Banjul. It commemorates the present government's takeover on July 22, 1994. There are nice views of the city. Usually there's a museum, but when we were there, it was being renovated.




Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

View from Arch 22View from Arch 22
View from Arch 22

You can see much of The Gambia's capital, Banjul


22nd February 2007

I miss you
Hey. We sent you more mail, oh wait, we haven't sent it to you yet. I am sooooo busy. I didn't know it was possible to be this busy. But we WILL be sending you more mail soon. I can't believe I have gone a month without talking to you. Its torture. But anyway, I hope you are having a great time. From your posts it sounds like it has been quite the adventure. I'm noticing a theme of guys in these pics... :) Anyway, if I don't stop now I will write you a book in this one comment. Oh, and I got your text. Miss you like crazy.
22nd February 2007

:)
Thanks for the update small fry!!! those pictures are gorgeous!
28th February 2007

I am jealous
My little cousin, I am so jealous of you and your trip. What a wonderful opportunity and how brave you are. I do not think I would have had the guts to go off that far from the family at your age. (I am not sure I would do it alone at my age.) I am quite proud of you and brag about you and what you are doing all the time. Keep having a great experience and I will continue lurking. Love you bunches--Kelly
1st March 2007

YOUR FAVORITE SISTER CUZ IM NOT AS UGLY AND FAT AS THE OTHER ONE
HEY DUDE WHATS UP? I'D HAVE TO AGREE WITH JODI ON LOWERING YOUR STANDARDS IN YOUR SEARCH FOR A HUBBY BUT ANYWAYS YEAH I KINDA MISS BEATING YOU UP ALONG WITH THAT LITTLE TRICK WHERE I HOLD YOU UPTHAT WE LOVE SHOWING EVERONE OK ANYWAYS I IMPROVEDMY BIO GRADE GEOMERTY.....NOT SO MUCH TTYL STEFFERS
3rd March 2007

you rock!
wow those are some pretty sweet pictures. It's so neat that you're living over there... I'm jealous. I've never stayed in another country more than a week, and thats just not long enough to see everything! miss you and wish you were here to help the soccer team! take care.
12th March 2012

Tour in Gambia
Hello Guys, my name is sadibou i am young boy age of 17 i am from born and rise from The Gambia, if any one who is interested in visiting Gambia or to know the Gambian culture and lots of things in Gambia. feel free to contact am a guide to your way. contact details are +2207486345 or email simonleigh20@yahoo.com

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 33; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb