The one where I find the 5th dimension


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » Western Division » Brikama
February 10th 2008
Published: February 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

(The internet has been out for several day, and the electricity has been on and off, which is why these two posts are back to back. There is about a week’s time in between them.)

I went down to Gunjur again this weekend, with my friend Babadingding, and his sister Kaddi. Time spent in Gunjur is always appreciated. Both by the people I stay with there, and by me. It is a nice get-a-way from the every day life in Bakau. Saturday was a track and field competition for the secondary schools there, and in the evening, there was a “club” at the school. Let me tell you, both were phenomenal. Everyone from the village of Gunjur, and people from the surrounding areas came to this event. The field was packed with screaming onlookers as the kids raced around in the sand. The “club” was only for the older people, as there was a lot of loud reggae music and ganja smoking. In the middle of this quiet, peaceful place, that does not have running water or electricity; they erected a monumental club of epic proportions. It was a slammin’ good time.

I generally try to avoid situations where I may have a bathroom emergency in a hole. This situation could not be avoided. Between my previous bouts of diarrhea, the butt load of food covered in palm oil, and my dehydration, it was a verifiable slippery slope out my ass. Unfortunately, I found myself in the middle of the bush with only a can of water and a hole at the time of the explosion. I tried to McGuiver some toilet paper out of leaves, but I only had crunchy ones on hand. So I was left to my own devices. This is why I try to avoid going places with only local latrines when I am sick, you have to embarrassingly squat on the ground, go, and then wipe your ass with your hands and some water. It actually is a nice experience once the pain is over, if you never had the experience. I feel one with nature.

I came back to Bakau on Sunday, late afternoon. I’ve realized that I have found the portal to an alternate universe. Bakau could quite possibly be the 5th dimension in the 3rd world. I love living here, because there is so much bizarre on a regular basis, but I also realize that I too, must be semi-insane. Bakau is a bubble, those who don’t live in it cannot really understand. Most who don’t live in it, never want to. The sewers are filled with sludge that smells like a rotting toilet, the electricity comes and go as it pleases, and people move, talk, and live, as though they have been abducted by the mother ship and have seen the other side. Maybe that’s why I chose to live here, there is so much going on everyday, a new, strange person to talk to, and random dogs with mange and worm infestation that follow you around. It took me time and thought to realize these things, as most of the bizarre happenings are just commonplace in my life now. And then I realized, if it took you so long to see the blatant strangeness in this place, THEN YOU MUST BE ONE OF THEM. I feel at home in the Bakau bubble. It is glorious, in its own black hole kind of a way.

Quote of the post:
Why must the children play in the streets,
broken hearts and faded dreams,
peace and love to everyone that you meet,
don't you worry, it could be so sweet,
Just look to the rainbow, you will see
the sun will shine till eternity,
I've got so much love in my heart,
no one can tear it apart,
feel the love generation. -Bob Sinclair (Love Generation)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0367s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb