Half Way Point


Advertisement
Gambia's flag
Africa » Gambia » District of Banjul » Banjul
September 16th 2012
Published: September 16th 2012
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

So I have been in Gambia for 3 and a half weeks now, half way through my time here. I've had a good few days since I last wrote so I will fill you all in now.

Friday I woke up to sunshine which was lovely. Nisha had been on call all night but hadn't been called to the ward at all over night so she was very pleased. After handover we decided to start the ward round, there were lots of jobs to do so it was just me and Nisha on the ward round. Julian was observing the boy with the pericardial effusion as he was having it drained in the morning, they managed to extract about 1L of fluid from around his heart. He was started on TB medication as the presumed cause of his effusion. During the procedure he was given midazolam and ketamine so much more adequately sedated than the old lady 2 weeks before. The ward round was fairly uneventful but very long. I got called away with Dr. Anderson to go and put a chest drain into a 9 month old baby who had an lung abscess, she was a very good little baby and didn't scream too much, I was responsible for distracting her and trying to keep her calm. We finished work about 2:30 after doing discharges and the jobs and then came back to the house where I recieved a text telling me to go to the beach. When I got to the beach I got another text telling me that the person had sent the text 4 hours ago and so I was a bit late and they had left. It didn't matter as I decided to jump in the sea anyway before walking back home. It was nice but too warm in the sea so I wouldn't hurry back.

Back at the house I was discussing with people about flights home and too my horror upon checking my flight details I realised that I had asked dad to book my flight back to Jersey the day before I arrived back in the UK. I felt like such an idiot! I immediately text him letting him know so we're going to talk about a plan later on this evening. I can't believe I made such a silly mistake!

In the evening we went round to the Manchester students house which was great fun. We ordered takeaway and played card games until almost midnight, I never knew card games could be so entertaining, it was great!

The following day I had agreed to do some errands with a researcher who was down from Keneba for the weekend. We set off to bakau to find the cash point and the post office as well as to have a look at some of the markets. This was all going well until the wind started to blow us loads of dust and then the heavens opened. We ran for cover and tried to wait out the worst of it before continuing on to Bakau in the drizzle. When we got there I bought some stamps so expect postcards when I'm able to find any. I though getting the stamps would be the hard part but apparently not! We wandered through the market which was interesting but a definite assault on the senses, lots of smells that weren't always plesant. I didn't see anything I was drawn to so we decided to keep walking and attempt to find the crocodile pool hidden in the town of Bakau. We eventually got there after a wrong turn and a helpful guide. The guide decided to take us round the museum explaining everything as he went and then took us to see the crocodiles. It wasn't until I was about 1m away from the crocodiles that I realised I wasn't too keen on being that close. We were allowed to touch them had we wanted but I felt that would be a step too far. I got some good photos though. From the crocodile pool the guide led us back to the main road and amazingly didn't ask for any money for his time which floored both me and heather as I probably would have paid him had he asked. Back on the main road we grabbed a 7/7 taxi and went to Kairaba shopping centre. I picked up some supplies before heading home.

I had just grabbed myself some lunch when there was a knock on my door at home and stephanie came to ask if I wanted to come to Serrekunda market now that it had stopped raining. I'd been driven through the market before so I knew how busy it was and thought as I had a willing guide that it would be too good an opportunity to pass up! So I got ready to go out again. We got a gelli gelli to Serrekunda which again cost 7 dalasi, it's like a small minibus where you shout to the driver when you want to get on or off, quite an experience but probably not one I would do by myself. We got off and walked the back way to the market where the girls knew there were good fabric stalls. I had told myself that I was only going to look this time so I had an idea what to buy next time but soon I got so caught up in it that I ended up buying fabric too. It was a really interesting trip and all the material they have is beautiful. Gambian women dress in the most impressive costumes every day so fabric shops are everywhere.

We got back to the house and by then my feet were sore and dirty, I didn't really want to go anywhere but it was decided that we should go in search of food. I put forward the idea of going to Mama's restaurant as it wasn't far away so we did that. I tried to be brave and ordered the African dish domada but to my dismay the chef had run out so I had to settle for garlic chicken and chips, not quite what I'd had in mind but it tasted nice. When I got home everyone help planned to go out to Senegambia to dance but my feet were too sore so I stayed in and read my book.

This morning we got up earlyish to go to the tailors shop, he is a lovely man called Bass and he makes beautiful clothes. Everyone brought their new fabric with them and asked him for various things which will be ready later on in the week. I'm excited to see how the things I comissioned turned out, I won't say what they are as some may become presents but we'll see. We also wondered through the craft market looking at sand paintings and carvings and a man who does some weaving, I didn't buy anything this time but I will be going back for another look soon I'm sure.

Next it was time for brunch at the Butchers shop, I knew what to expect this time so I hadn't had any breakfast and we made sure to make the most of the food sitting there for a good 2 hours. It's been a lovely day but I felt it was too hot and humid to sit on the beach so I have been doing a few things around at home and may decide to go for a walk a little later on when it's cooled down. I'm definitely going to be staying in for a little while as I feel I've had a very extravagent weekend but it's been the best weekend so far. Not sure I want to spend all week in the hospital if the weather stays like this but at least I know I'm learning things.

Hope everyone is well.

Will write again later in the week.

K x x x

Advertisement



18th September 2012

Miss you katy!!!
loving your blog katy! It sounds such a daunting experience but i'm amazed by some of the cases you've seen. Keep on having fun, lots of love Rosie xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
19th September 2012

Hi Katie! What an interesting time you are having and the weekend sounded really great. The way you speak about the local places , the dialects and the different foods just shows you have really immersed yourself in the the whole placement and the peopl
Things here are now very ,very quiet and it is taking a bit of getting used to. However, both Tom and Lindsay are sounding very positive about their respective new places and like you are making new friends. The cats survived their stay at the new cattery but seem very happy to be back at Le Grenier.Both Dad and I are still quite busy at work but maybe this weekend will be a little quieter and I shall get a few jobs done-still haven't entered Tom's room!! Sue Smith's results came through and she got a First- very clever lady! so we may need to go out and celebrate and then on Sunday I must remember to do my creche duty unlike the other week when I completely forgot! Speak tomorrow and hope this finds you well and happy, love you loads,Mum X
3rd October 2012

trust you to book your flights wrong!! haha hope you get it all sorted xx
4th October 2012

Got it sorted, silly me I know! Home in a week can't wait, I love the sunshine but still looking forward to coming home. There is a postcard on it's way to you, hope you get it soon! Speak when I'm back! x

Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 58; dbt: 0.05s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb