Sara # 3 The Show Case Assosa


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We invited all our VSO friends round for dinner and a film on Friday, Al downloaded Sweeney Todd before we left the UK. We were all quite excited (well some of us anyway) as it had good reviews in the UK, and Al promised a red carpet and popcorn. Marta made some lovely, lovely food for us - cabbage and potatoes, salad, shiro, it really was very tasty, everyone was very impressed, it’s a shame Marta wasn’t around to experience the adulation of her cooking! We didn’t quite manage popcorn, but some interesting biscuits, which I quite enjoyed, Al managed to get Bedele Special - he’ll tell you all about that, but needless to say he was feeling very pleased with himself.

So things started well, the screens a bit small but when you’ve got a blockbuster film to watch, who cares! I hadn’t realised Ray Winston played such a major role, and as the film went on, I was surprised that I had not seen Johnny Depp, or Helena Bonham Carter, and I had expected some singing, strange? Be patient I thought, all will be revealed.....ow yes, it will most certainly be revealed, maybe you’ve guessed already.

There was to be no Johnny Depp for us tonight, Ray infact played a very major role, the lead, and the BBC version of Sweeney Todd, wasn’t a bad film I have to admit, but not really what we were all expecting. I keep laughing every time I think of it, can you imagine, 8 Ferenji crowded around this little screen, eagerly awaiting the American blockbuster, what a laugh, we reckon we’ve managed to put everyone off our movie nights, although the anticipation of what you might get is fun!

Al ‘claims’ he has I am Legend, I’m looking forward to finding out who will be playing the Will Smith part, Lenny Henry perhaps?


Advertisement



Tot: 0.18s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 91; dbt: 0.0888s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb