Happy New Year(2004 that is)


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region
September 16th 2011
Published: September 17th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The year just became 2004 in Ethiopia. I have been wondering as well why that is, and Still trying to figure out how to get pictures on here, soon enough! Well last weekend I spent New Years Day at my new friend Ato Simon Mechale house. His wonderful family and he were incredibly welcoming, making me feel right at home. The meal that we had was incredible, Ethiopian food at its finest! I will explain more about it when I get those pictures up.
As for more about the kids/orphanage, I found out that I will be teaching Comprehensive English grades 1-4! We will see how that works out with the language barrier, but I am really excited non the less. The children have been so welcoming, the girls more than the boys but I think I have finally earned their respect through football(soccer I know but they hate when I call it that). I only have 2 children that are Liverpool fans like me, so the others take great pleasure in telling me how much better their favorite teams are, which unfortunately they are.
Besides football they play a lot of table football(Foosball) and table tennis. I can hang with them in table tennis but I get my butt kicked in Foosball on a daily basis.
The food at the orphanage has been great, they cater to the volunteers, giving us a lot of pasta and sometimes pizza! We also occasionally get pasta pie, which is simply pasta with sauce covered in cheese and rebaked... delicious!
Two new volunteers have come since my last update, one from Stockholm,Sweden and one from Dartmouth. It is nice to have another American here, even if she is only staying until the end of November. Most of the volunteers only stay for 2-3 months, so my 9 month stay has been quite a talking point for people at the orphanage!
The other day we went to the National Museum and saw Lucy as well as some other skeletal fragments dating back 5.6 million years, quite an incredible experience seeing remnants from the cradle of civilization.
That's all for now, till next time!


Advertisement



27th September 2011

You are our hero!
Good for you, Pete! Sounds like you are really taking it all in! We are thinking of you and wishing you well on all of your adventures. Love the blog! Sincerely, The McCleerys

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0515s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb