Happy Holidays from the Permanent Substitute!


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
December 22nd 2011
Published: December 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

Happy holidays to everyone reading, I know its been a while since I updated, seems to be a reoccuring theme doesn't it? Everything here is going great, the second quarter is coming to a close and Ethiopian Christmas is quickly approaching(January 8th).

With some of my classes I get the feeling like I am just a permanent substitute to the students. Not that I blame them, can you imagine a 3rd grade spanish class where the teacher only speaks in spanish?? In a way it is very good for the students as they have had to develop a good ear for listening to English, but still it can be frustrating at times. Their behavior is very poor some days, and since all I can do is yell at them in English(or use the few Amharic phrases I know) most of them just look at me with a blank stare. I know myself as a student would have been a lot of trouble for a foreign language teacher, so I understand.

Last week all of the teacher took a trip to Lake Ziway in Southern Ethiopia. It was absolutely beautiful. The scenery was incredible, I got to see some wildlife for the first time(monkeys, a lot of interesting birds and even a few komodo dragons!) It was refreshing to get out of the city for a while, if only I could do that more often.

Short post today because I only have 10 birr in my pocket so I have to cut my internet short, but I promise I will update more soon with other thoughts and travels.

Again thanks for reading and Happy Holidays to everybody!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0429s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb