A night in Addis Ababa


Advertisement
Ethiopia's flag
Africa » Ethiopia » Addis Ababa Region » Addis Ababa
November 29th 2009
Published: November 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post


Addis Ababa, the name itself tells us the mystery of the place. When I was around 11 years old, I had a map of the world, and I was proud to be able to know the name of the capital city of most countries. Ethiopia, this was such a mysterious land. I do remember
the huge famine that happened here years ago, but beside this, I had no idea of what the place looks and feels like. Rest reassured, I'm not sure I know any better today, but at least, I've seen...a little. At 35, those kids dreams of land far away have become a true reality, and I'm thankful for it.

I just spent few days with friends in the middle of Africa. No blog on this as I posted a blog on Lubumbashi 2 months ago. I continue to listen, ask questions and try to understand everyday a little more about Congo. I know, I've got a lot more to go to truly
size the place. ButI truly enjoy the experience already.

But back to Addis Ababa. Ethiopian Airlines being one of the few serious airlines on the Africa Continent, this was not my first touch down on the Ethiopian soil. But I never left the airport. This time, due to transit time, I'm one night in town. Well, I was first
supposed to land at 7.45pm...we landed at 9.45pm...and left the airport at...yes 11pm! Immigration is a very interesting process here. But at least I was happy to discover that I did not had to pay any visa fee as I'm only on transit. The hotel was around 15 minutes from
the hotel. My first impression at night was the one of huge boulevards, many seriously communist style buildings...and huge construction sites all over the place. One thing is for sure, this country is moving, one way or another. My night arrival was greated by a chilled
evening...and a rainy evening too, not a time to venture out.

Early wake up...I'll sleep in my next plane...as usual. Instead of taking the shuttle back to the airport. I negociate a 40 minutes drive around to get me back to the airport. So let be clear about it, I've got no idea if what I saw is of any importance to the city. I'm sure
I haven't seen many ...or even any of the big sites...no presidential palace, no huge mosque...they maynot be in the path of my driver. But what I saw is a continuous mix of "village life", in the middle of the city. Where do they find grass...or any food for all those sheeps
all over the city. Pretty impressive I must admit. If you didn't know, for me ethiopians people, let it be women or men rate easily as one of the most beautiful people in the region.

My morning was cloudy...nearly drizzling...and fresh. We are at around 400 meters altitude...as explained by my driver, I did not check, but it is chilly. I'm awaiting my next flight...as usual late, but this seems to be a new way of life for me. The good news, is I may have
been in this airport 3 or 4 times, I've finally found a lounge who let me in...internet and some drinks, not a bad thing. Well, uploading pictures is a very slow experience, but that's ok, I don't have too many.

For your info Ethiopia seems to be a great place for rafting, but it seems the shortest trips are 2 weeks...2 weeks without internet, I'm not sure my clients and friends would appreciate...maybe on day...but this will be a far away day.

I've got only a one hour flight...back in the sun, to another "interesting place". I've got one goal for my next entry, hope I can bring you nice pictures of it.

Asia, I'm coming back home soon. Ma'ri and Leslie have set up the Chrismas tree, I miss them, but will be home soon...for a sun Chrsitmas...and a diving New Year!

With love from the middle of Africa....Asia is my home, the world is my garden...I'm gardening a lot for the moment!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



29th November 2009

Are they sheep or goats?!
I, too, loved naming capital cities on a map as a child. And I still love looking at maps today.. Thanks for an interesting, off-beat trip round Addis
29th November 2009

Hey Pierre, Thankyou for your kind words to Ethiopia.But for your information Ethiopia is not a muslim country.Both in it's number and dominance,it is a christian country though it is a country which all of religions live together peacefully.. Have a great time
30th November 2009

Not a muslim country
Ethiopia is a very, very, very Christian country. It is one of the few Coptic places on earth. Eritrea, a separate country, is Muslim, but Ethiopia definitely is not.
1st December 2009

:)
Peter!!! Nice to hear from u again :) I really like your last sentance...couldn-t agree more! I wish u a nice december with your family, un abrazo
1st December 2009

Ethiopia is Coptic
Having grown up in Ethiopia but not been there since it was interesting to see the pictures. Ethiopia has a long history as a Coptic (Christian) country whose history predates Islam as a religion and could not be considered a muslim country. .
3rd December 2009

You are completely right!
Thanks Em and Abebe! You are 100% right and I found it meeting a young Norwegian student who is studying in Addis Ababa. I found out a lot of things about Ethiopia will having diner with him. For example, Addis is not at 400 meters altitude, but 2400...a slight difference...I was not really sure of all the info I received from my taxi driver, but for sure, they were less than accurate. Sorry again for not given proper info, that I simply did not have.

Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0478s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb