Who says you can't go home again?


Advertisement
Congo, Democratic Republic of the's flag
Africa » Congo Democratic Republic » West » Matadi
June 19th 2010
Published: June 20th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Tuesday, June 15, 2010 Nsona Mpangu

As the station where I spent my first four years in the Congo, and where my parents worked for seven years, Nsona Mpangu was probably for me the most anticipated stop on our trip. Of course for my sister Patricia it was seeing where she was born in Sona Bata. We were welcomed by former students warmly. As background, Nsona Mpangu has become an isolated outpost for both geographic and political reasons. It is 35 km. off the main highway and the road is narrow and rutted. As soon as we arrived I headed for our former house, the water tower, and other landmarks I remembered from living at this station. It is no longer a mission station as no missionaries work there. It was amazing to see trees I remembered from over 40 years ago. As you will see from the photos, the physical plant has deteriorated substantially from when we lived there.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The showerThe shower
The shower

Our second house is now a guest house. This is what you get for your shower.
The soccer fieldThe soccer field
The soccer field

Where we were evacuated in 1960.
Former studentFormer student
Former student

He remembered me and Jeannie.
Ecole secondaireEcole secondaire
Ecole secondaire

The condition of this school was probably my biggest disappointment.
Twin girlsTwin girls
Twin girls

5-weeks old.


Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0767s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb