Village and lake walk


Advertisement
Chad's flag
Africa » Chad
January 14th 2011
Published: December 4th 2011
Edit Blog Post

BoomslangBoomslangBoomslang

Venomous snake blocking our path!
15:16

This morning I met up with my guide. He’s a tall muscular man with a moustache. He’s called Abdoul Yaouba and he is casually dressed in combats and a T-shirt. Most tour Guides are Men as women don’t tend to wander around alone in Africa, Chad as they are at home caring for children and feeding the family. He took me on an interesting walk around the village and up round the Lake telling me all sorts on amazing facts about Chad. Chad is apparently quite poor due to the Civil Wars and Political Instability. I was shocked but Lake Chad has actually shrunk from 1,500 to 500 square miles in under 40 years! The source of the Lake is Lake Victoria and Lake Chad runs through 4 different countries; Niger, Cameroon, Chad and Nigeria. I saw a really deadly snake today! We had to back away and change direction because it was too dangerous to pass. It was a boom slang (a VERY dangerous snake) and it was cursing green with weird yellow eyes. Before we went I managed to get a quick shot on the camera!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb