Cakes and Beaches


Advertisement
Burundi's flag
Africa » Burundi » West » Bujumbura
February 2nd 2007
Published: March 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Gitaga Dancers and DrummersGitaga Dancers and DrummersGitaga Dancers and Drummers

These lot were ace. So how can the music and dancing in Bujumbura's "legendary" nightclubs be so pants?
I don't know how many reasons you need to visit a country. For Burundi I had two. See the title of this blog to discover the two reasons. Maybe you could add a third, the fact that I didn't know anyone else who had been here, but it is principally cakes and beaches that led me to board an overcrowded minibus for the arduous journey south from Rwanda.

Cakes: Burundi is the most Francophone of the East African countries. Consequently, in the hot, dusty capital, Bujumbura, there are a lot of excellent little patisseries catering for the hoards of French and Belgian UN officials and NGO's.

Beaches: The inland beaches of Burundi are found on the northern tip of Lake Tanganyika. It was nice to dip my toes in this, the longest freshwater lake in the world and the second biggest in terms of volume (behind Baikal in Siberia). Since in my head Lake Tanganyika was the exotic realm of explorers like Livingstone and Stanley, being there reminded me why I started travelling in the first place. The fine sand and dark brooding mountains of the Congo offers scenes comparable to those on Lake Malawi. Although in Malawi where
Saga Beach Saga Beach Saga Beach

Lake Tanganyika and the mountains of Congo in the background
there are lots of great little beach bars and a lively backpacker scene, in Burundi there is one great little beach bar and no tourists at all.

The reason for the hoards of UN workers and NGO's is the drawn out civil war that began in 1993. The final remaining, but also most extreme, rebel group, finally signed a ceasefire with the government in September 2006. This explains the lack of tourists.

As in Rwanda, problems in Burundi are caused by Hutu-Tutsi tensions. A Tutsi minority has governed a Hutu majority and since independance in 1962 it hasn't taken much for one tribal group to start massacring the other. I won't give a big history like I did on the Rwanda blog because it is much harder to understand what has gone on here than north of the border.

Talk to the people on the street and there is a lot of hope for the future. Refugees of past massacres are returning to the country, education is increasing, poverty is decreasing. Despite this the large numbers of heavily armed police and army soldiers on the streets are constant reminders that such a recent peace is not yet
Found This In The ShowerFound This In The ShowerFound This In The Shower

At least it was dead
concrete.

This country is gradually appearing on the backpacker circuit as an alternative way to get from countries like Rwanda and Uganda down to Zambia. A few days on a ship cruising down Lake Tanganyika is infinitely more pleasurable to a few days in a cramped bus on Tanzania's awful roads.

There isn't a great deal to keep you in the country though when in transit. Except for the apparently "legendary Bujumbura nightlife", to quote Lonely Planet. When I think of legendary nightlife, I think of Space in Ibiza, Pacha in Buenos Aires or any number of clubs in London. Le Pique Nique was slightly different. More a fenced off gravel car park than what I would call a club. Music ranged from Cher to 50 cent, always with African drumming in the background. Floor filler of the night was Dire Straits - Money For Nothing. "Why do Mazunga's (white men) never dance?" I was repeatedly asked. "Because the tunes are so shite" I think I replied in my best french. Food was good though: salty goat and chips.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Saga BeachSaga Beach
Saga Beach

This is about as busy as it got
Local Guys at Bujumbura UniversityLocal Guys at Bujumbura University
Local Guys at Bujumbura University

The university is quite run down but has great views over the capital city and Lake Tanganyika
BujumburaBujumbura
Bujumbura

The city looks a lot more pleasant from here than it is at street level
Nestor, George and MeNestor, George and Me
Nestor, George and Me

I met these two on the beach and they ended up being my tourguides and clubbing buddies. Thanks lads for letting me stay in your flat.


10th May 2010
Nestor, George and Me

BIT
HA HA HA HA HA HA HA TA VRM RIEN A FAIR !!!!!!
16th October 2010

I am Travelling to Burundi
Hey George, I am traveling to Bujumbura and it is my first time, what should I brace for? Any ideas about cheap but safe hotels? How much is the lowest rate? What should I plan for the food. I am traveling from Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi, Congo then come back to Bujumbura and fly out from their to Belgium.
17th October 2010

I'm not sure where you got George from; my name is David. Or Donny. Anyway, in Bujumbura I stayed at Saga Beach. It was quite pricey (about $30) because it catered for UN Peacekeepers but it's all I could find. You will have no problems finding food; there are lots of restaurants and roadside kebabs are good. Regarding what to brace yourself for, it's hard to say because I was there in February 2007. The situation changes weekly so I would try to get some advice once in Rwanda. I'm sure you'll have a great trip, it's a fantastic part of the world.
30th January 2013

3rd Reason to visit Burundi
The warmth and kind heart of the Burundian people

Tot: 0.04s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 25; dbt: 0.021s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb