Day 19: Ghanzi - Maun


Advertisement
Botswana's flag
Africa » Botswana » North-West » Maun
August 30th 2012
Published: February 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Today we arrived in Maun, our home base for our trip into the Okavango Delta. Our first stop was in town to pick up the supplies for our trip into the Delta. Derek and I went to pick up a couple of bottles of Scotch, but the prices were actually really high. I guess it was because it is a tourist area. I decided to save money and have a "dry" couple of days.



Once we were in the camp site, a lot of people headed off to do their scenic flight over the Delta. I used the time to kick back and relax by the pool, beer in hand. It was nice to just hang out for a while instead of worrying about getting somewhere. It was here that I found St. Louis Export, the local Botswana beer. Kobus had recommended I try this, and thank god he did, it was fantastic. Before dinner I tried to have a shower, but it was horrible. The showers were breeding beds for mosquitos. It must have been the quickest shower I've ever had.

Dinner was earlyish, and afterwards everyone went to bed pretty early too. I took the opportunity to try and do some astrophotography. I wanted the pre=actice because I figured the Delta would be a great place to get some good photos.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0631s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb