Someday


Advertisement
Benin's flag
Africa » Benin » South » Athiémé
January 25th 2008
Published: January 25th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I hadn’t slept well and still woke up early. I decided to go to morning mass at 7h, as a means to get out of the house and in search of motivation. Arrived at the church I discovered there was no mass for some reason, so I turned to walk home. I decided to take the short path that passes through light brush from the river to the church. As I passed a smaller path that lead away from town into more fields, I wondered what was beyond and said to myself that someday I would follow it. Then I double-backed on my steps saying there was no reason that someday couldn’t be today.
The path first lead along the river through a defeated corn field, nothing more than beaten down grass showing me the way. There were old structures and foundations, one obviously being a colonial home or post of some sort which had now fallen mostly into the river. A few more steps put me right on the edge of the bank- a ten foot drop to the water’s edge. Small birds that reminded me of Killdeer flew just above the water’s surface and I decided that would be a good bird watching point. In the distance I saw two men working in the field, and not really any particular path leading that direction. I considered turning back since I didn’t really know where I was going anyway, then remembered that was rather the idea and continued. Soon enough I found a well-worn path about a meter wide which I followed west along the river.
Little birds made the grass stems swoop toward the ground and doves made their ‘coo’ as I walked along. The path put me directly on the bank, showing me how the flood waters had swallowed a couple centimeters of the path. At one point I came to two mango trees, one now leaning sideways bowing over the river. The flood had dissolved the earth supporting the riverward side of the tree.
The vegetation and bird life was nothing different than my yard or the garden, but I was enchanted because I was discovering a new path outside of town yet so close. I could hear music playing and hammers and tractors working on the road, but I saw no one and no buildings, only wide open, overgrown fields between groves of palm-nut trees. I came to a field drainage creek bed with a tree root as a footbridge. Even though the creek was dry and the descent was not great, I took the footbridge to cross. I walked beneath palm-nut tree leaves; the farther from town I walked, the older and thicker the groves. At a break between groves there was a towering Iroko tree with white-throated bee eaters on its branches. The path climbed up a bit as I took a left, hoping to meet the river once more before turning back. I descended into a bigger natural drainage ditch before climbing back up to meet the river’s edge. I was reminded of the Benedictine Bottoms along the Missouri River, how through the shadows of trees I saw the light and open of the river. Except on the Togo side of the Mono River there was a small village where a woman was washing dishes in the current. I didn’t stay long because I didn’t want to disturb the scene. I turned and began to retrace my steps. The walk back was much quicker; though still new to me I now knew where I was and could hear others long the field paths parallel to the one I walked. I had worked up an appetite and had ruddy cheeks and a slightly runny nose. The cool Harmattan winds make like a warm day in early April- not as chilly once in the sunlight.
I ate rice and beans and didn’t even have to pay- a friend beat me to it. The early morning, which I had begun tired and discouraged, now warmed and motivated me. Before concrete churches, God made nature and all that evolves within.


Advertisement



1st February 2008

Getting into your blog a bit late...
Hello!! I received the link to your blog today and am so excited for all that you are doing! I have only made it part way through your postings but I am looking forward to getting to hear more about Africa. I pray that God will bless you and the people you meet during your time in Africa!!

Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 77; dbt: 0.0929s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb