A is for Around the World Trip


Advertisement
South America
April 2nd 2015
Published: April 2nd 2015
Edit Blog Post

For the second year in a row I am participating in the A-Z Blog Challenge. This time officially. For this year I will be writing my A-Z bucket list. I’ll be writing about all the things I want to do and see in this world before I die. Thanks for reading and if you love it, please follow me and leave me a comment or two!

It’s fitting that this is the first thing on my bucket list,
not just because it is an ‘A’, but also because it is indeed top on my list of
things I want to do before I die.

I’ve always wanted to take an around the world trip. On my
several mini trips, I’ve run into so many people who’ve taken a year (or more
off) to discover the world. Don’t get me
wrong, I love the way I travel. One month in a country gives me lots of time to
see nearly everything I’d ever want to see. I am not rushed and I have the
comfort of knowing I will be back home and in my own bed soon enough. But I really like the idea of being gone for
a year. I like the idea of not working
for a year, of calling the world my home.

It’s just never worked out for me really. As an ESL
teacher, I’ve had the opportunity to live abroad in Chile
and Honduras,
and I did the majority of my traveling from those countries. It made sense. It
was cheap. It was easy and I could remain working and making money for all the
trips I was taking.

And while most people seem to take this kind of giant trip
when they’re younger, perhaps on their gap year, or simply before they’ve
gotten a ‘real job’ and acquired things like cars and cats and houses, I
envision doing this when I’m older (mostly because I am older.) I’d love to do it with a partner. It seems
easier, logistically speaking at least, and cheaper and much more fun. I also
see me doing this when I am closer to my goal of hitting all 196 countries and
can travel around the world hitting the remaining countries on my list with an
around the world ticket.













Until then, I’ll save and dream and live vicariously through
all the travelers I meet along the way.

Advertisement



3rd April 2015

I love it!!!
And I'm already Following you, so all I can do is wait to read that blog that lays out your itinerary. I'm waiting...

Tot: 1.376s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 58; dbt: 0.1346s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb