the museum of textiles in Salta


Advertisement
South America
February 26th 2015
Published: March 4th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I’d seen most of the places I wanted to see in Salta after one day. I went to one more museum – ‘the museum of textiles’ which was very interesting and not very well-known to tourists. It mainly focussed on art works made by the indigenous people, who would worship Catholicism alongside Paganism. There were lots of Catholic images with Pagan heads ,or earth symbols. Also there would often be a snake in their pictures which would represent fortune, not a Catholic symbol. Before this museum I didn’t even know that this type of art existed.



I continued eating Italian food, picking up where I had left off before I left Argentina to go to Chile back in January. On every corner in Buenos Aires there are Italian restaurants and pizzerias, and there are plenty of these in Salta too. Italian food, like Spanish and Turkish food always makes me feel at home. Just thinking of Spaghetti, pizzas, red wine, vanilla ice cream and an expresso makes me feel cared for. I sat in a bar in the main square and drank a small bottle of the local beer called ‘Salteno.’ It was tasty and refreshing.



In the evening I met a local girl from Salta who was staying in the same dorm as me. She was about to start training for the Argentinian army so we spent a while talking about that. I hadn’t met anybody who was going to join the army before. It was really interesting to hear about the training.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.288s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 52; dbt: 0.1048s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb