Looking back


Advertisement
South America
January 21st 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So I thought i'd just jot a few things down about the continent. People keep asking what was my favourite bit and I don't know how to answer; spotting the giant otters in the pantanal was pretty special, as was the snorkelling at Bonito. Iguassu falls were awe inspiring, as was the perito moreno glacier. The whales getting so close at peninsular valdes was very special, and the view of mount fitzroy was simply breathtaking. Low points would have to be breaking my camera, and adding insult to injury by losing the memory card, and I was not as awestruck as I was expecting by torres del paine, or machu picchu. Speaking of which I spot that there's bad flooding there now - I seem to have been 1 step ahead - rio, ilha grande, and now peru. Wildest cab ride was in Buenos Aires, hardest thing to get used to was not being able to put the toilet paper in the bowl, biggest suprise was being able to negotiate with the cab drivers in peru and ecuador. Favourite city was Buenos Aires, least favourite was Salta. Argentina stood out as the most developed, but you get a sense that brazil is capable of doing anything that it chooses. And now I have a reason to go back - the bolivian salt flats!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0464s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb