To Cerro Castillio


Advertisement
South America
January 13th 2010
Published: January 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The day would be filled with rain as the Chilean weather forecast would say. But also ths weather foecast was not right. Colthilde gave me half a liter of milk as gasoline for the road which was nice. The road was bettter than I expected. It went up to a pass through a rainforrest. Very green and a lot of steams. Only the sound of floating water and birds and sometimes the sound of my chain. Little cars passing bye and very nice views on the mountains surrounding the valley. The clouds were still mostly grey but some sunshine did arrive. I had my lunch next to the sancuario of San Sebastian which was standing somewhere in the middle of nothing. All the candles were out so I had to light one. The descent started out nice. I met Lars who had already been cycling hurs against the wind whcih was blowing in the valley of Rio Ibanez. Bad road, certainly double difficult. Some kilometers further Paolo from Brasil also cycling less than 10k per hour did his best. I tried to encourage them with the good part I cycled in the morning. The rest of he road had beautifull views on the Park of Cerro Castillio but did hard attacks on my bike and everything else. After the rainforrest the landscape changed into a rocky valley with western colours. 97k in somewhat more than 5 hours of cycling. The evening I met two Argentinians who were travelling on their motor to Villa O´Higgins.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement



Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0511s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb