Machu Picchu


Advertisement
South America
January 2nd 2010
Published: January 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Machu Picchu was more impressive than I'd imagined. A new theory is that it was a actually a type of university, home to about 2,000 people, mostly young boys and priests. At that time over 500,000 people were living in Cusco. The reason that Machu Picchu didn't suffer the same fate as Saqsayhuaman and most of the other evidence of Incan culture is that is was hidden from the Spanish (it's above the clouds). The Incas started building it around 1430AD but was abandoned around a hundred years later. It was "discovered" by an American named Hiram Bingham in 1911 and is now a World Heritage Site, and one of the most popular tourist sites in South America (and the world).

I know I should write more, but I'm getting ready to hop on a bus and I know my parents want to see pictures.


Oh, and Happy New Year! Love to all!


Additional photos below
Photos: 44, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

MPMP
MP

The Intihuatana is thought to be an astronomical clock or calendar.


2nd January 2010

panda bear says hi
the first thing i thought when i read this post was, "you owe me a new acorn. squeak squeak squeak, squeak, squeaker." happy new year!
3rd January 2010

Woohoo!
Yay photos and yay safe arrival after overnight bus ride!!!
4th January 2010

"Ooooooh, Machu Pichu!" (I can't remember for the life of me what that quote is from, but I've loved it since I heard it)

Tot: 0.359s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 79; dbt: 0.2765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb