Shit, Need To Get Better At This


Advertisement
South America
July 13th 2009
Published: July 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So, my last night in Cuenca was friday, and I'm already missing the city, and my host family. It's not the bars and discotecas that I'm going to miss, its the people. I only lived here for a month but it really did feel like home, and the people at CEDEI and my host family all felt like family.
I'm going to miss my class and our trips to the museums and markets, discussions about andean culture.
The other weekend I went to two cities south of Cuenca, Gualaceo and Chordeleg. Gualaceo had a great park that stretched both sides of the river for a really long distance. There were bridges that were totally sketch, but still cool. The central plazas of every city iv been in has been amazing, usually because politicians dump loads of money into them because they're so visible to the public, but Gualaceo's was one of the nicest for how small the town is.
Chordeleg, is a small town even smaller than Gualaceo. Chordeleg is known for its silver jewelry, and other crafts. The buss to and from is more then a little dangerous, it doesn't stop to pick you up, you just have to jump on while its moving, but its only 60 cents form Chordeleg to Cuenca.
My last night in Cuence, I went to a dinner that is for the students and families. It was really good, I had a good time. Later that night I took a cab to meet friends for dinner at a restaurant called Clasico, it was closed and my cab driver turned out to be a really good guy, aperanlty it was a really dangerous area, so this is how the conversation went (translated). Me: how much do I owe. Cab Driver: where are you meeting your friends. Me: oh, the restaurant is closed, shit. Cab Driver: are you still meeting your friends here. Me: yeah, ill just wait in the plaza for them. Cab Driver: NO!!!! its very dangerous here at this time of night, go wait at that conner store. Me: Okay, thank you. So as I walk across the plaza to the conner store the cab driver circles the plaza to make sure I made it to the conner store then waits 5 min before leaving. Later that night I went to Chiplotle or something like that, a bar on Calle Larga, then to the hookah bare that also has shwarma or somthing like that.
So the next day I said good bye to my family, and was told that I'll always have a family in Cuenca, and got really said right before my flight to Quito.
In Quito I visited the equator and a mountain that overlooks the city, before leaving for Santiago where I am now, ish.
Anyway I'll try to update this more often and put pictures up and stuff.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0352s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb