Finally Taganga & Tayrona


Advertisement
South America
May 11th 2009
Published: May 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

...after recovering from Sacha I headed North on a big scary fast bus with the coldest aircon on the planet to Taganga: a beach village near Santa Marta on the Caribbean Coast.

The beach is average but it’s the staging post for trips into the Lost City (which was only rediscovered and hacked out the jungle in 1975) the absolutely stunning Tayrona National Park & of course Scuba diving in the Caribbean.

A couple of weeks ago I met a lovely Irish lass called Linda & we disappeared into Tayrona, there’s no internet, phones or very many people.

The 1st night we stayed in Arrecifes where i got eaten alive by fleas from the hammocks we rented on the beach, So now I never leave home without my trusty can of Raid to kill the little b’stards!

2nd night we stayed in the beach huts at El Cabo De San Juan de Guia, up on a hill in a wee island, sounded great, looked stunning but was howling windy & freezing cold at night time & really really windy, I actually slept in all the clothes I took there & my Thai Sarong over my legs & my Scotland flag as a wind break over my head, needless to say I never got much sleep so on the next night I rented a tent & mattress & slept like a log - lovelly!!

.....as usual I went skinny dipping every day! We got a fishing boat to take us back to Taganga, I thought a couple of times she was going to capsize….very dodgy!

I’m staying in a lovely hostel called La Casa De Filipe: The house of Phillip. The rooms are about NZ$12 per night & the chef is Patrick is Dutch & just amazing & the foods pretty cheap, I can have a steak dinner every night if I like for about NZ$10. I rescued a poor wee goat that got its horns & head stuck in a bin across the road from the hostel, thought I’d never stop giggling!

Taganga is a lovely wee spot on the Caribbean coast that has an absolutely shite beach so most people head over the hill to Playa Grande which is much nicer though not world class. If you want world class then back to Tayrona you need to go!


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Skinny dippingSkinny dipping
Skinny dipping

as usual....


Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.045s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb