Buenos Aires and other adventures


Advertisement
South America
November 14th 2008
Published: November 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

BA1BA1BA1

a cool looking bridge in Bs.As.
SOOO....It's been awhile since I last updated because not too much has really been happening but i'll do my best to remember the goods stuff!

We went to Buenos Aires last weekend. We had a couple of boring tours where they take you to a plaza and point to the different buildings and tell you what they used to be. We did some shopping at a couple of ferrias. We went to the cemetary where Evita Peron is burried and other famous argentinians. hmmmm....Oh we went to an AMAZING Tango show. It was a delicious 3 course meal (I got empanadas, Steak, and chocolate mouse for dessert...YUM) and then the show, which was beautiful. I didn't get any great pictures but I took some video, so i'll show some of that sometime when i'm home. We also ate at a cafe where I guess a lot of famous argentinians used to go and eat...its was pretty brief and not too exciting but good hot chocolate and churros :-) hmmm I think that covers Bs.As.

As for life here in Rosario all is well and normal. Another girl from the states is coming to my house with a different program.
BA2BA2BA2

me and some friends at the tango show
She'll have the bed room upstairs...I think I got the better end of the deal! She'll only be here for 3 weeks though, she's leaving when I am. I went out salsa dancing with my friend Romina on Wednesday and everyone thought I was german. One guy came up to me and in spanish told me he speaks german and I was like well that's good....i don't....haha. Then last night Romina took me out with some of her girlfriends that are all from argentina and it was lots and lots of fun!!!

Otherwise, during the week its pretty chill here...I go to class, I lay in the sun (oh yeah it's sunny and around 85 here almost every day), and I hang out around town with friends. I go to the beach on the weekends i'm here and the weekend before last we had a bbq on my roof with all the guys here! That was a lot of fun to have them all over and eat good food and then I just got to go downstairs and go to bed when it was all over :-) Today Maxi and I had lunch in the park...I got chicken from
BA3BA3BA3

the most amazing steak i have ever had
the resturant that our program gives us tickets for and then I MADE MAC AND CHEESE!!!!!!!! SOOOOOOOO GOOOOOOOOOOD!!!!!!!!!!

Oh I also finally made it to the top of the Monumento de la Bandera. It's pretty high up and you get some cool views :-) This random guy approached me on the street (as is normal here...weird) and decided to come with me...but it turned out to be really cool cause he was really nice and he knows A LOT about the monument and Rosario so he was explaining everything to me and he convinced the people at the monument to let us go up for free! haha crazyness!


Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement

BA4BA4
BA4

an attempt at a pic. of the tango show
BA5BA5
BA5

me being hot...haha littlerally oh and i got my hair layered/framed...you can kindof see the shortness of the front
BA6BA6
BA6

The cafe
BA7BA7
BA7

La Boca neighborhood...we went to a ferria here
BA8BA8
BA8

one of the tombs in the cemetary
BA9BA9
BA9

there are more than 5000 tombs...and families are burried together sometimes there are as many as like 30 people under one tomb...
asado1asado1
asado1

Maxi manning the grill
asado2asado2
asado2

Maxi making the salad
asado3asado3
asado3

time to eat!!!
asado4asado4
asado4

Maxi and I at dinner
moore1moore1
moore1

me and my argentinians!
moore2moore2
moore2

WOOOOOHOOOO
mon.1mon.1
mon.1

a view from the top of the monument
mon.2mon.2
mon.2

another view of the city
mon.3mon.3
mon.3

view of the river


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0673s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb