Easy Bake and my Toaster Oven


Advertisement
South America
November 10th 2008
Published: November 10th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So, I put my baking skills to the real challenge yesterday morning. I finally got around to baking the two cakes that my brother and his wife sent me for the toaster oven. Of course they were easy bake mixes for a child´s easy bake oven which pretty much meant that I would screw them up. The more simple a job is the more difficult it is for me. The recipe called for the addition of only water to the mixes - I did that to perfection. I had neither the easy bake pans nor the easy grabber oven mitt, but I figured that a seasoned Peace Corps veteran could jerry, or in my case, Jeremy rig something. I took two empty tuna cans to use as my cake pans. You gotta remember easy bake cakes are not all that big. What I had trouble accounting for was that the easy bake oven uses only a light bulb as its heat source. So, how does one calculate heat generated by an easy bake oven compared to my toaster oven and then how to you adjust the 15 minutes necessary to cook said cakes? I cooked it at 200°F for 5 minutes and it came out brown on the edges and gooey in the middle - perfect for Sue, but not up to my cake standards. I really wish I would have had the easy grabber oven mitt that changes color when it is safe to touch the cake pan. Those damn tuna cans get deceptively hot and stay that way for a long time.

I think I will stick to my regular toaster oven baking style and skip the easy bake mixes. Though Susan loved her chocolate brownie with chocolate icing and Casey loved her blonde brownie with chocolate icing. Put chocolate on any food item and you´ll have the two of them eating out of your hand.

So thanks Bryan and Kelly for sending it to me and let´s just say I need an easy bake refresher course from one of my many nieces - or perhaps my cousins Megan and Shannon can help, they used to have easy bake ovens.


Advertisement



11th November 2008

I still have the original easy bake!
Mom and Dad handed over the circa 1979 easy bake oven a year or so back, so if you really want to experience a real easy bake oven cake, let me know!
18th November 2008

sorry for making an easy task so challenging
We thought you'd enjoy these, sorry they were not so 'easy' to 'bake'. We'll skip that chapter in the cookbook.
18th November 2008

All Good
No, I liked trying the Easy Bake recipes - just making fun of myself.

Tot: 0.145s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1114s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb