The Lost World


Advertisement
Published: April 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I was born in Caracas, Venezuela so going to see Angel Falls has always been a dream of mine. I went to Canaima with my family in the summer of 2003 on a package tour. We took a small plane from Ciudad Bolivar to Kavak. Getting off the noisy plane to the stunning silence of Kavak was a surreal experience. Kavak is a camp that sits at the base of Auyentepui. I was happy just sitting and watching the clouds swirl around the top of the cliff. Definitely bring lots of mosquito repellent if you ever come here though! Our guides took us on a walk and we waded through a cave to a waterfall. This was really an amazing experience for my family and I and it really felt like the vacation had arrived. The next couple of days we spent on the river going from camp to camp. On the 3rd day we hiked up a tepui which was honestly the hardest thing I have ever done. Imagine climbing an 80 degree slope grabbing vines and slipping on mud and dead leaves. By the time we got to the top I pretty much collapsed and went to sleep. The next morning it paid off though because the view was unbelievable. My favorite part of the trip was on the way to Angel Falls. Devils canyon was awe inspiring with the many towering cliffs and waterfalls. When we got to angel falls it was cloudy and I was a little dissapointed. As we made the 1hr 1/2 hike though things finally cleared up. Emerging from the forest and catching the first glimpse of Angel Falls was one of the greatest moments of my life. I grew up seeing pictures of it but actually being there is something else entirely. The sheer scale of the falls is mind blowing. By the time the water reaches the bottom it is pretty much vapor. We spent some time swimming and then went back to our camp on Ratoncito island. The last day we went to Canaima lagoon. Walking under the water falls was a very cool experience. The lagoon was beautiful but in comparison to Angel falls I found it a little dissapointing. Over all this was a trip of a lifetime and I will definitely be back.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Devils CanyonDevils Canyon
Devils Canyon

My Favorite Pic


Tot: 0.07s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0403s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb