Cold buses and ATMs which don´t work!


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Central » Puerto Colombia
March 17th 2009
Published: March 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Puerto ColombiaPuerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia

The harbour
After a 40 hour bus ride to Sanata Helena, I jumped straight onto another bus Ciudad Bolivar, then one to Marracay. The biggest shock to the system was how cold they blast the air condition system on these buses. By the time I arrived in Marracay I had a really bad cold. Jumped into a cab straight to Puerto Colombia, which was a pretty little costal town.

I met a few other travellers there who were also passing through Venezuela and told me if there is one place you must visit, this was it.

It was a really pretty little fishing village and it was strange how the beach was kinda hidden away. As you are walking around this village all you can see around you are mountains, until you get to this little clearway, then you can slowly start to the see the beach.

Getting out of Venezuela was just just as problematic. I originally changed up 100USD on my Santa Helena bus as one of the black market dudes got on the bus and gave me a rate of 5 Bolivars to 1 USD which was good. The official rate is 2.3ish! As I was starting
Puerto ColombiaPuerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia

A pretty bird
to get low on cash I though I better get some more funds from the ATM, although the rate was shit, I needed a bit more to get by.

No ATMs would accept English cards (well none of the ones I could find)! I then struggled finding the ticket office at the bus terminal so asked a friendly policeman for directions who ended up giving me a lift on his motorbike to where I thought was the bus terminal, but was in fact the cop shop!m He thought I had been smoking weed and wanted to check my bags!

Finally had found a bus out of this place and when we got to the border of Venezuela and Colombia a friendly Colombian lent my a couple of quid as I was slightly short of the 55 Bolivars for the Venezuelan exit fee.

Colombia here I come!


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Puerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia
Puerto Colombia

The Mecalon
Puerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia
Puerto Colombia

Fishing boats returning
Puerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia
Puerto Colombia

The village
Puerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia
Puerto Colombia

The village
Puerto ColombiaPuerto Colombia
Puerto Colombia

The village
MarracayMarracay
Marracay

Fruit stall


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb