Things I've learnt in Venezuela - 30 Mar 2011


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
March 30th 2011
Published: March 30th 2011
Edit Blog Post

A slightly misleading title because this is really things I've learnt in Venezuela and Argentina but it isn't quite as catchy a title! Also apologies for those looking forward to this last week but was travelling and from now until May don't expect much as I have a wedding to prepare for then recover from!

Venezuela hasn't changed much in 4 years...apart from Chavez's grafitti which is much bigger and shinier than before

Banking isn't easy in Caracas...it took my friend over an hour to withdraw about 100 dollars in cash, from his own bank account, involving numerous phonecalls and emails to authorise himself to take out his own money.

The Caribbean is always warm...even on a cloudy day I was loving the Caribbean Sea more than the air around me!

I love seafood soup...had it twice in Venezuela and it was Deeeeeeeeelicious!

I do enjoy a pint glass...it fits in your hand perfectly as I rediscovered in the English pub in Buenos Aires

I'm not a fan of 7 hr car journeys that start at 10pm...even worse when it is followed by 8 hours of flying

7 hr motorbike journeys must make it
Meat!!!Meat!!!Meat!!!

That is about 13 tonnes of meat loaded onto a truck
painful to sit down...the only reason I can think of as to why somebody would be cruising along the motorway at 100 km/h lying on their front with their legs behind them a la superman!

La Pampa has the best meat...especially a slow-cooked (over wood not charcoal) piece of beef

Question of the week
"You're coming to Venezuela for tourism?"
"Yes"
"For how many days?"
"3 days"
"As a tourist?"
"Yes"
"For tourism?"
I think she was trying to slowly break me down and say no I'm an evil capitalist here to exploit your citizens and make them perform world records for my profit!

@paraguayralph



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Arepa!Arepa!
Arepa!

The world's biggest arepa
Beauty and the BeastBeauty and the Beast
Beauty and the Beast

She kept asking for a photo...


Tot: 0.175s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 57; dbt: 0.1291s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb