From bad to good


Advertisement
Venezuela's flag
South America » Venezuela » Capital » Caracas
January 29th 2010
Published: January 29th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi, this is my first entry for s America. I flew from Belfast to new York for a few day then on to Caracas. And to be honest I wish I never went near the place. I booked in to a hotel called hotel visavila (an over priced one) for two nights. To be fair the hotel wasn't that bad I think it doubled as a love hotel. Me and my girl friend got of the plane and was immediatly hounded by black Market money changers but was kindly assisted by an airport cop around the airport safely and put into a taxi to our hotel. I was scared shitless no lie and my girl friend was too. With the two of us with almost no Spanish it was a very dawnting place. It may have been the wrong thing to do but we stayed in the hotel room all day and night, in the morning checked out although we had already paid for the second night we cut our losses and head west to maracy on a bus. It took about 3 hours and was uneventful. As soon as we got off the bus at maracy the bus driver pointed us to the bus to Porto Columbia. We got a real taste of Latin America on this bus I tell ya, it was an old round topped bus and coulorfuly painted. It was full of locals and we really didn't no if we were on the right bus or not. The sound system was almost the size of the bus and it was pumpping the hole way there! The bus took us on one of the most scarest roads I've been on up through the hills and dry jungle, it seemed there was a corner after ever corner. The bus stopped at different point to let locals off and continuied to Porto Columbia. We arrived at a small fishing town looking for a lovely beach but after walking arround we found nothing. We were both very upset and in a bad mood. So we went for some food and bumped into a caracs guy who spoke English, I asked him about the town and he pointed us to the beach. So after dinner we walked for about ten mins or so on a small road round the corner to find an amazing beach. It was paradise like something you only see in films. We took a moonlite stroll acompanied by three stray dogs. Suddenly things were look sweet again

Advertisement



Tot: 0.072s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb