One day in Uruguay


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
April 27th 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Uruguay! All I can remember about getting to the ferry port was that it was early. I do remember waking Amanda up and meeting Vikki and Vijay and then I remember being on the ferry and sleeping. Nice ferry though - I had a whole row of seats to myself to stretch out on. Poor Vikki was the only one left awake.

A few hours later and we're in Colonia, Uruguay. We hop into a taxi and are taken to the old town. Between the four of us and with the very short distance from the port - the taxi was mega cheap!

We arrived at the wall of a very pretty little town. All of the house were either white or grey stone with cobbled streets, old fashioned lampposts and 1950s cars outside. I loved it.

Admittedly, I was hungry and in a bit of a grump but then my hunger began to fade but before that, I did snap at Vikki and felt really bad about it after. We had a little wander around and then walked into the new part of town.

Huge contrast to the old town!

No cobbles or cool old cars - everything was super modern. And I could even buy Cadbury's chocolate! It took us a while to figure out what we wanted to do before heading back to the old town.

We found a patch of grass and sat on it for a while whilst watching the water, walked around the town a bit more and then Vikki and I watched Amanda and Vijay climb the lighthouse.

Soon after, it was lunch/dinner time and we eventually ate at a little Mexican restaurant in the old town which was very quaint and it was nice to be somewhere warm enough to sit and eat outside.

We still had a bit of time to kill before heading back to the port so we went back to the new town for hot chocolate, wandered around a bit more and then boarded the ferry whilst looking out onto a beautiful sunset behind the lighthouse of the old town.

Lovely day, quaint, beautiful place but I really think that one day there is enough.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.149s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 22; qc: 104; dbt: 0.091s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb