I´m on a boat!!


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » West » Colonia del Sacramento
January 31st 2010
Published: January 31st 2010
Edit Blog Post

I can honestly say that I never imagined myself going to Uruguay. Really, the name sounds like it would be a boring place or slightly ugly. Never judge a country based on its name, I can say that for sure! Such a beautiful and tranquil country!!!
I went with 2 friends from school, and we stayed 2 nights in a hostel. It is neat because you can get to Uruguay via bus or boat. Clearly the boat is a much better way to travel! We just stayed in a small city and didn´t go to the capital or venture out to much. Colonia is really old and cute. Cobblestone streets and now it is just a place where people from the city go to relax for a weekend. It felt like I was in a movie sometimes. Just such a peaceful place. Its was a nice break from BA (Buenos Aires). BA never really slows down and its just the energy of this city...just going all the time. I think I am a small town girl at heart, because being away to a small place made me realize that is what I like. And by small town, I mean less than a million people.
Its cool because in Colonia, the majority of people drive scooters. I saw quite a few families where a scooter is their main transportation. The dad drives, there is a kid behind the dad, then the mom who is holding a small baby. And no helmits, just motering around. Its also quite the site seeing a 14 year old girl driving at night while she is holding a bottle of beer in her other hand.
There is a drink called Mate that everyone drinks. It has more caffeine than coffee and tastes sort of like straw or grass. If you like green tea, you would like it. Its cool to see just about every other person walking around with a mate mug and a thermos of hot water. I dont have any pictures yet, but a lot of people drink it in Argentina also. Its apparently really healthy for your body, unlike coffee which gives people head aches if they dont drink it.
Overall Uruguay was so nice and if you want a vacation, go there! Its not cheap though. About the same price as Canada, slightly cheaper. Oh and staying the hostel was good fun! Its always interesting sleeping in a room full of 10 people and almost falling out of bed because your on the top bunk. I love all the interesting people that you can meet though. Met an old Canadian guy who is traveling around for 2.5 years.

Advertisement



1st February 2010

so cool
You look like you are having so much fun! I absolutely love this blog. That tea type stuff is actually not too bad. I remember Rosella bringing some back. She had this metal straw type thing with a strainer on the bottom. I hope you are taking lots of pictures. Have tons of fun. Keep writing. Miss you toodles Ferne
1st February 2010

im on a boat
lol it sounds like your having an amazing time. im so glad you are getting to expeirience all of this. im really loving all the blogs ive got you bookmarked and an constantly telling tim about your travles, im sure hes sickof it by now lol. love you lots ill be sure to send you some pics from the wedding in may!!!!!

Tot: 0.125s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0569s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb