Four passport stamps later......


Advertisement
Published: May 21st 2009
Edit Blog Post

This is a relatively short blog to upload photos so don't panic you don't have to trawl through too much of my speil!

I now have four more stamps in my passport!! One for leaving Argentina, one for arriving in Uruguay, one for leaving Uruguay and one for returning to Argentina. In all honesty the hassle caused by immigration was a major one and I am now slightly concerned.

Our travel plans are slightly changing at the minute as we have discovered we have a couple of extra weeks in hand so we are planning to spend longer in Patagonia and potentially discover more of southern Chile and the Lake District however this will also mean more border crossings. At the present time I have counted up and between now and when I leave South America on the 9th August I will have another 17 stamps in my passport which is fine till you then think that I will have another 7 countries to visit after I have finished here!!! Its going to be a very full passport and I will have to be careful to leave double pages for those countries that state you need them i.e South Africa!!

Anyway I digress..... Uruguay. We got the fast 1hour boat across the River Plate and we had no problems apart from getting confused as to the exchange rate requiring a text to respective siblings asking them to help us out. Anyway on arriving in Colonia Del Sacremento we obtained a map from the tourist information and visited the bank to get some Uruguayan pesos and we then wandered around the old town. Once again we had found ourselves in a UNESCO heritage site which seems to be our habit at the minute. At this rate there will be few in South America we won't have seen!

The next thing on the agenda was to find the post office as Sharon was determined to send postcards home - I am afraid that it wasn't on my agenda as I wasn't a) organised enough to bring addresses with me and b) since we weren't staying the night I don't think it classifies as a true country on my list (my excuse anyway and I am sticking with it).

Anyway we found the post office and duly bought the stamps and then sat and had some lunch. The next mission was to find some postcards and believe it or not this was not a simple mission! The town had its fair share of tacky tourist shops full of junk that very few people would ever want to buy but only three shops sold postcards and all of them looked like they had been out in the sun for years. Anyway cards chosen, written and posted we went back to wandering around the town.

We went up the lighthouse however the view from the top was actually quite disappointing. The sun was on its way down and so we headed to the waterfront and sat drinking a beer and watched the gorgeous sunset.

We then made our way back to the ferry port via the old town as the street lights were now shining and one of the identifying features of Colonia is that all the street lamps are coloured yellow.

The ferry journey back was simple enough despite customs and immigration. I have to confess that it was nice to visit a country whereby a zebra crossing means the traffic actually stops for you rather than you having to put your life in other peoples hands when crossing the road!

We are back in Buenos Aires and tango lessons and a show beckon next!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



23rd May 2009

artistic
Hi, very impressed with the quality of your photography.Good composition, and some excellent sunsets. So much more than the average holiday shot. Might I suggest the only thing missing is may be a beach photo, possibly with someone in it (maybe Sharon?). After all she has posted a nice beach photo with someone in it.. (you perhaps?) :-) Almost feel like we are seeing the adventure 'live', so keep it up!

Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0877s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb