Colonia a full day of fun and adventure, with a quiet study session the day before!


Advertisement
Published: July 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

26/7/2008
Today was pretty much a day where I had stayed at home and studied as we have our finals on Monday and an oral presentation on Tuesday!

One of the highlights I guess was when I visited the markets down in Paseo Recoleta! I brought me some nice presents which I have been saving for…as for me there is still some space in my luggage! After that it wasn’t really a very interesting day, I guess just studied(at least tried in Buenos Aires) for most of the day….

27/7/2008
Alright!!! I don’t normally begin my blogs with such energy but that was basically how I felt all day visiting Colonia, Uruguay!!! Yeah I literally woke up before dawn and got me a boat (fast one) to Colonia…The funny thing was whilst waiting to board(embarcando) I saw most of the Americans from my uni there…hahaha small world!

When I arrived in Colonia, omg was it just beautiful, for me it just felt like I was in Cuba! To be honest it probably was to the locals,hahaha but yeah I mean just the buildings the cars the streets the passion it was like another world compared to BA.
I started off in the old town, where all the colour and texture are, here cars really don’t travel more than 10km/h and when I first arrived there, I noticed this was a city that definitely was big on there bikes and scooter bikes…so after walking around to do some shopping and then getting lost in town and visiting a football stadium…..My day literally took off when I got refused becuz most car and bike rental wont allow u to rent unless u have with u a min u.s200 dollar deposit and some want heaps of dineros (cash) for insurance not to mention a full license not just ur pzzz….so finally with my football yes soccer knowledge finally does pay off here…its like having an extra degree started chatting and got me a great deal a full powered vehicle…when a kart car was mine for the afternoon for like 30u.s dollars!!!

Oh yeah cruising down the freeway along the beach was just indescribable but brilliant trying to take pics and having latin style drivers comes left and right… I almost got into some shit!! i.e CRASH…in general I was on the road and omg I almost got into some shit when I forgot they drive on the otherside of the road here and for me Uruguay was so not the best time to learn manual hahaha but yeah it was cool and turning at busy street was a challenge but I defntly got outta my comfort zone and looking back now in retrospect…Im glad I did it!!! But yeah it was such a romantic town in general the ports were beautiful the music in restaurants were crazy…the dogs were kinda scary especially one that chased me down and starting biting until I went and did a Ronald mcdonald and a Maurice Green….

The people were cool and for lunch I just sat in a mobile like restaurant and just watched the soccer and bonded with the locals yeah!!!
All in all was a good day went home late at night and saw the sunset it was just a beautiful day



Additional photos below
Photos: 18, Displayed: 18


Advertisement



Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0618s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb