May/June 2013 Travel Blog Uruguay to USA


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » North » Salto
May 10th 2013
Published: May 10th 2013
Edit Blog Post

May 4, 2013 Start Stop and Start Again



Posted on May 10, 2013 by Judy Thompson
May 10, 2013 How Bizarre is this?? I planned this trip for months. Bags were all packed. My rental house was all swept. Seven boxes of storage were labeled and numbered. My friends took me to the bus and off I went. Salto, Uruguay has a modern bus terminal with a very classy shopping center. The transportation service “hurt” though. Even though it is a hub there must not be a huge demand for buses on into Argentina. I arrived on Saturday and missed the scheduled rides. Sunday there were no ferries plying the river and no local bus to take me to the customs site. Monday Argentina Struck! And I struck out. Long distance bus service paralysis set in. I bought into a little hotel and stayed two nights. My friends said come on back. You can’t tell how long this strike will last. I did go back. I will try this same jaunt (only flying OVER Argentina this time) in June. Bizarre!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.105s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb