Through Uruguay


Advertisement
Uruguay's flag
South America » Uruguay » East » Punta del Este
March 3rd 2006
Published: March 3rd 2006
Edit Blog Post

On the catamaran to ColoniaOn the catamaran to ColoniaOn the catamaran to Colonia

Designed and built by my Tasmanian friends
Dear friends and family,

Finally got back to a computer, it's been difficult with all this sunshine, beaches and surf. I left Buenos Aires a couple days ago and visited the quaint little town of Colonia del Sacramento with my new friend, Brock. Lot of old buildings, a lighthouse, fort, and a great beach. We had a great Parrilla lunch there. I've been doing really well with the food so far but I'll probably be a little thinner when I get back and a lot fitter for the sun run. Hope you're practicing Jason 😊

I traveled on to Montevideo on Tuesday and walked the beach promenade and into the historic old towne. Wednesday I arrived in Punta del Este, a ritzy little tourist spot for rich South Americans. Went for a bike ride yesterday with some new friends and got a bit banged up. Heading into Brazil tonight, hopefully there will be no problems at the border.

Unfortunately I cant get any photos on this entry so I´ll try another place later today.

Ciao, Richard



2016 Update: I have added photos from this portion of the trip. That little scrape from the bike ride gave me scabs all over my face and chin. I looked pretty unsavory for a while. I still talk about by Uruguayan biker days and I still own the T-shirt.


Additional photos below
Photos: 27, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

The lighthouse in Colonia The lighthouse in Colonia
The lighthouse in Colonia

Built right into the old city walls


3rd March 2006

sun..
"its been difficult with all this sunshine,beaches and surf". When I put on my gloves and hat to walk in the snow for class today I'll think about your "difficulty" .... sarcastic bastard ....
3rd March 2006

Sounds like your having fun :-)
Just wanted to drop you a line to say I am jealous.. hee hee LOL. Glad you are have some great times and making lots of memories to last too. Have fun and bring some of the sun back with ya kay. See ya when you get back to the frosty/cold BC side, Melissa :-)
3rd March 2006

Accident Prone
Maybe you should stay away from bike riding for a bit, given your history.
5th March 2006

just back from portland show ok just lots of driving last night back to port angelas home now think i might have a nap glad you have found travelling mate its safer and someone to enjoy the trip with great day here lots of sunshine great to hear your news keep it up love dad
6th March 2006

hmmm
Wish i was you for the first time ever bro.HAHA.
8th March 2006

I miss Uruguay!
Hey Dickie! If I'd known you were going there I would I asked you to go and visit the family that Garnet and I stayed with! They live near Kiyu which is about 1/2 way bewteen Montevideo and Colonia. Are you vegetarian? Otherwise I can't see you getting skinny in Uruguay! They eat the most meat per capita! So jealous of you being down there! Love Fi

Tot: 0.309s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.1052s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb