Montevideo


Advertisement
Published: November 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

MontevideoMontevideoMontevideo

Not the last tango in Montevideo
Sunday 23rd Oct

Well its an average hotel room at best and they have wifi but you have to go in to the hallway to use it! Its comfortable though and a good shower.
Thank god for Garnier Nutrisse. I put a hair colour through my hair at last and have resorted to bobby pins and a head band to hide 'feral'. Also put some through Shanes beard to help hide the greys, although he still insists there are none! LOL

We arrived in Montevideo yesterday afternoon. Shane is wondering where the 'romance' has gone from travel these days. He insists we walk to the hotel from the bus station rather than catch a taxi, so off we head. No directions and no map! After walking around in a circle outide for 5 minutes, I say " Gee this is romantic isnt it!"
Yeah, I thought it was funny too but Shane didnt. lol
We head back into the bus terminal and I ask for a map and directions. The hotel is about 3 kms away. This really IS going to be romantic. You can imagine how it went. Shane storming off, waiting impatiently for me to catch up every block or two and me glaring at him furiously. We got there in the end though without any harm done.

It is Uruguays Bicentenary this weekend so there is alot going on and people everywhere although the stores are closed. Musicians,singers, mimes and lots of people without any talent whatsoever, are out and about entertaining the crowds. Peanut and pastry vendors sell their goods and there are craft and antique stalls galore. The Old City has way more character than the new town as you would expect. The New town is wall to wall litter. It really has nothing on Colonia.

Shane says: We went into the grocery store today to buy some odds and ends. While lined up waiting our turn, Sharls mentions how lazy the check-out chick is, taking her time and not wanting to serve. I see a break in another line "Sharls over here, Sharls over here". She is day dreaming and talking to herself, or me? "Sharls over here". No recognition. So out comes a dog whistle. Straight away a head lifts, sees me and a dirty scowl appears on her face. For those that know Sharls well, WELL they know she hates the dog whistle. I start laughing (not for long) well I did after getting out of the shop. Also know whilst writing this.

Sharls says: I dont think its anything to laugh at. The only reason I looked up was to have a look at what sort of class act would whistle across a supermarket! I should have guessed LOL

We basically spent today walking around Montevideo and La Rambla - the shorefront. The old buildings are all open to the public for the weekend so we've been crawling through those.
Hopefully there isnt a public holiday here tomorrow!!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb